Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV to Laptop

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by bobnatale, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. bobnatale

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to display the FPV on my Laptop or Surface. Anyway to do that? I feel like I may be missing something obvious lol
     
  2. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just get a av in usb stick...

    http://www.hauppauge.com/

    :)

    Just remember, it will probably lag because of the extra encoding step..
     
  3. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
  4. bobnatale

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just cant believe that there isnt an app capable of this. Its just sending the video over wifi. I can connect my laptop to the camera, would just need to app to display it. I am really surprised that DJI didnt write one for PC platform.
     
  5. bobnatale

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I have found a workaround. I installed bluestacks android emulator. I was able to install the fc40 app from the play store. I dont have the camera with me at the moment, but I will post my results when I get home.
     
  6. bobnatale

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No dice. I can connect to the cam via wifi but the app never lets me select the network. Just hourglass forever. =(

    I will be trying some other android emulators in the next few days
     
  7. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, tried this myself tonight. Hour glass forever. :(

    I'd much rather use a netbook than a pad....
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I feed from the output on my monitor to a Dazzle Pro HD USB cable to my MacBook Air and record it with VideoGlide. VideoGlide works with almost all dongles.
     
  9. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hea? You lost me.

    You feed output from what type of monitor?

    Are you receiving FPV from the FC40 into a PC? Thats what they are referring to...not just watching playback.
     
  10. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    If this thread is in a FC40 only topic I apologize. You cannot tell where the threads are located if you read them as new post.
    Yes, my FPV monitor from my P2 feeds my MacBook Air and I record it on the Mac. Does the FC40 cam have an video output you can tap into?
     
  11. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    No, the FC40 cam is just wifi
     
  12. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    OK, I have never looked an FC40 over before. Would a security cam program 'see' the signal? Many of those programs use wifi to communicate. Or there is this new cam with a built in 5.8 transmitter... http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13043 that could possibly be an option for the adventurous.
     
  13. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    If anyone has used software on a laptop successfully I'd be super interested in how it was done. :ugeek:

    I found no mention of it on the net.

    I tried 2 android emulators and they had major issues and never made the connection although the fc40xxxxx signal showed in my availible wireless connections. Something propriatary in this signal?
     
  14. BladHaund

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some other ideas, but I haven't tried them:
    Use the AirPlay Mirroring function of your Idevice and output to Apple TV.
    Use the mini HDMI connector of your Android device and output signal to... whatever you have.