Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV stopped working: Is this really the solution?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by pilsburypie, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    I have posted about my issue previously and spent God knows how long deliberating over it. Basically, Phantom 2, Zenmuse 3D gimbal, Gopro hero 3 black, VTX and generic monitor with built in receiver.Purchased pre assembeled.

    This worked fine for approx 4 months, then on one flight, nothing. No crashes, knocks or bangs - No snowy screen, just a black screen "no signal" displayed. After checking the channels, checking the monitor, checking the vtx, all seemed to be individually working fine. So reaching a dead end of my ability I had to admit defeat and send it away and pay for a professional to trouble shoot. I got this reply yesterday but am stumped by it.

    "on the video feed from inside the craft there is just one yellow cable connected, this I presume is the signal wire, but there needs to be a ground aswell, so thats missing and that would stop the video signal form being transmitted."

    Is this right? How can it be? I have not removed any wires at all and it used to work fine....... Keen to know as I don't want to pay for unnecessary workshop time to do something that doesn't fix my issue..... :?

    Thoughts really appreciated.
     
  2. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    If the board is getting power, there is a ground wire.
    It would be a lot easier if you could find someone with a similar setup nearby.
     
  3. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Steve

    I know of no one near me unfortunately. Just to clarify what you said, about the board getting power.... what board?
     
  4. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    "No Signal" usually means that the receiver is not receiving a signal from the transmitter. If you can get an old UHF TV receiver, 5.8GHz is between channels 32 and 33 - you might be able to find the signal there.
     
  5. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you post your setup? what monitor, vtx. vRx?
     
  6. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Err.. Not in the UK. Channel 33 is more like 550MHz, not 5880MHz.

    I would think that your TX has lost power for some reason. This could be a faulty TX, or just a simple cable failure. I suggest you find a local shop with some basic test gear, or failing that, buy a cheap, low power TX and use this to test the rest of the gear.

    If you can come over to Lincs / Leics (I live on the border) I can happily sort this out with you. I have spare TXs and test equipment, plus other monitors and RXs, so we can substitute items until we find the problem.
     
  7. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Thank you all for your suggestions and offers of help. This has hopefully been sorted now by quadcopters.co.uk. I'm expecting it back on Monday.....