Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV mode on V3.0 firmware?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by macheung, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/attac ... .25.54.jpg

    Someone posted a pic of a "gimbal" config page likely for the V3 firmware on RCGroups. I am especially intrigued by the FPV mode. What does it exactly do? Does it locks the gimbal in a fixed position so it can tilt and roll with the craft?

    Have anyone tried this out?
    Does it require the h3-3d or will it work with the h3-2d as well?

    If this work, I might bite the bullet and upgrade to V3.0, at least before they put out V3.1 out with a whole new bunch of other restrictions. Unless of course v3 turns out to be buggy.
     
  2. mmccurdy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    22
    I saw that as well when upgrading my phantom 2 to 3.0. I will play with that today and let you know.
     
  3. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    The controls on that page have no effect on my H3-2D. Either it's just for the new H3-3D or we are waiting on a new FW release for the H3-2D gimbal.
     
  4. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    This is for the 3D only... all it will do is allow you to lock the 3rd axis, as there is lag in the lateral movement which some say"takes some getting used to when flying fpv". Effectively, it will make it perform just like a 2D.
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    That's just awesome. How about we have a consistent set of gimbal controls, DJI? Maybe some auto-detection of what gimbal is in there and show the appropriate settings! Not exactly rocket science.

    Well, I have an easier way to fix that. If anyone is annoyed by the lag of their H3-3D when they do FPV, don't waste your time with this switch! Send me your H3-3D and I will send you back a perfectly good H3-2D which has no FPV lag whatsoever. I'll even pay for shipping!
     
  6. shartlza

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I don't think this feature is as simple as locking the 3rd axis. I think what it actually does, as the Phantom banks the camera slowly rolls with the bank, so you get a sense of roll with the Phantom like you would in a true stationary FPV camera. If you watch the Dronefly demo video about 55 sec in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNKlvvGk_q4&feature=player_detailpage of the Vision+ they talk about this feature.

    Also, here is another video with the H3-3D doing it (at least thats what the title says).
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSgTmmmwCnA&feature=player_detailpage

    I think it would be kind of cool if the H3-2D was able to enable this, so if you are just looking for some FPV fun and not making a video it would be an option.
     
  7. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    What you are describing is the typical behaviour of the 3D, the lock will stop the movement of the 3rd axis -- that's kinda the point.

    How could a 2D do this, it has no 3rd axis.
     
  8. shartlza

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    No, disabling the 3rd axis would stop only yaw compensation. The FPV mode would cancel the 3rd axis as well as tilt the camera into the bank so the camera would not remain horizontal. If you watch the videos you will see what i am talking about.
     
  9. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    On the h3-2d i would expect it to lock the tilt and roll axis. Essentially turning the gimbal into a fixed mount without having you to swap it out and rewire fpv.
     
  10. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Hmm, so the gimbal still stabilises the shot, but just doesn't do any compensations for tilt / yaw / pitch.

    Fair enough, I stand corrected [like a man wearing orthopaedic shoes].
     
  11. onfourblades

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York (-13 declination)
    I really hope this is enabled for h3-2d :) was looking into way of doing this function
     
  12. onfourblades

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York (-13 declination)
    anyone know if it is enabled?