Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Paul Kinsman, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. Paul Kinsman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi folks, I'm a moderately experienced P2V+ user for a couple years with a question I haven't been able to find an answer for yet.

    So I set my cam to shoot 1080i at 60 fps. It looks right in the app and shoots fine. However, when I look at the video file info on my computer is says the frame rate is 30fps. Premiere Pro seems to confirm this, when I slow down my clip by 50%, ostensibly to play at 30fps, it is obviously not 30fps, it's 15. SO my question is. what am I doing wrong, or possibly, what am I not doing right? haha Would love to edit some slo-mo but I cant get it happening.

    Thanks
    pk

     
    #1 Paul Kinsman, Jul 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I'm pretty sure it has to do w/ the interlacing of the video. @ 60fps, it's interlacing 2 halves of the frame, so basically the equivalent of 30fps once the frame is smashed together (60i / 2 = 30p). Perhaps Premiere is just doing the math for you? That's how I understand it, anyway. Could be wrong.
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Don't use 1080i @ 60fps for aerial unless you are stationary. Interlacing will cause noticeable 'rips/tears' when you are panning or moving in aerials. Stick to 1080p @ 30fps.
     
    crash1sttime likes this.