flyaway

My take on it is not getting a Home Point registered correctly - If your Home Point is registered as the last takeoff point then when failsafe actuates the Phantom flies to what it has registered as Home Point .. Patience to get both GPS and Home Point locks is essential to having your Phantom return ...
Mandrake

Some here have speculated that it has something to do with GPS drift. My guess it's a combination of things, and while many flyaways are similar, others are unique, and some downright pilot error.

I take it that there is not a problem using the wi fi with the fc40 and the phantom?Or should you not use it?I am just a little nervous about this.I am a fixed wing pilot and this is going to be all new to me.Glad I found this fourm.

The 2.4ghz wifi camera should not cause any problems with the FC40's 5.8ghz controls

I had had a few so called fly always and 2 unexplained low battery landings when it was far away.
and from what I have been reading about most fly always I believe are actually caused by the same things. If its far away and the low battery alert is set to high and it instead of making it back to the home point and instead does an emergency landing and you never find it most are going to think oh well i must if had a fly away when it may have just landed some were. That is some thing I would call pilot/operator error.