Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flight controller firmware has been updated to v3.12.

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by dirkclod, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,678
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I wonder if this just auto loads when in assistant ?


    Firmware Updates on March 03, 2015
    Overview:
    a) Flight controller firmware has been updated to v3.12.
    Major New Features
    a) No-Fly Zones have been updated to include a 25km radius centered in Washington, DC.
    b) The compass calibration program has been optimized to improve reliability.
    c) When automatic landing is initiated, users can now continue to control the aircraft’s position and
    altitude. During this process, the maximum speed of ascent is 1 m/s.
    d) After an automatic landing has been completed and the motors have stopped spinning, users can
    immediately restart the motors and begin a new flight.
    Special Note:
    a) It is recommended that the compass be calibrated in an environment that is free from sources of
    potential interference. If you become aware of any source of potential interference, move to a
    different location and calibrate the compass again. Be aware that underground metal pipes may cause
    interference when the aircraft is close to the ground during compass calibration.
     
  2. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    Based on earlier 'sloppy' introduced fw-updates by dji, I will NOT update the fw on my p2v+ v3 for a while. I do hope though, that members of this forum with good sw/fw-experise are willing to test this fw update and report back on this forum. I will await their reports.
     
  3. pb7424

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Two Rivers, Wisconsin
    I downloaded the new Assistant version 3.8 and the 3.12 firmware update did not auto load. I had to select the 3.12 firmware on the upgrade page for it to download this update.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,678
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    That's good to know,Thanks
     
  5. pearvalley

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded to v3.12 today. I had never downgraded from 3.10 as I had no issues with it. 3.12 flew perfectly throughout the test flight. I really like being able to control the Phantom 2V+ in descent when "Coming Home" without having to cycle the S2 switch. Hope it goes well for you.
     
  6. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    Anyone else upgrade successfully?
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,469
    Maybe that was a typo.
    S2 switch won't help much there - it should be the S1 switch.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    ooops!
     
  9. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    I see no reason to upgrade beyond 3.08. Why will I want more no-fly zones, limit the battery brands to use and pushing unwanted firmwares into my bird? :roll:
     
  10. spudraleigh

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Really, I mean, what if I want to film the Washington Monument from the air! Oh wait, that's illegal already. Hmmm.... well you never know.
     
  11. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860

    +2

    IM just worried that eventually if bird is connected they will force an update... hopefully thats not ever possible. :shock: :eek: i like my 3.08 just fine...
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,081
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    US
    Disconnect your Internet before firing up the Phantom Assistant then :)
     
  13. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860

    :twisted:
     
  14. pearvalley

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    S1 is right. I always think of the 2 on the right instead of the left. My mistake.
     
  15. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,678
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Left is Right ;)
     
  16. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    All updated, batteries charging and the sun is apparently going to be out for most of the morning.

    Ill give this a try in the next few hours.
     
  17. Electric Warrior

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    East Sussex, United Kingdom
    WooHoo!! :D
     
  18. ccase39

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    17
    Wonder how that turned out.
     
  19. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Going to do it in a few minutes :)

    *edit* Well that was fun. Didnt get chance to fly, had issues with my Vision.

    Ill sort them out and try again in the next few days.
     
  20. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    For what purpose? :eek: It's not like you're being forced to upgrade. In fact on there isn't a v3.12 upgrade on the P2 NV assistant software.