Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flashing Red LED

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Razorback, Aug 30, 2013.

  1. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys

    Just got my phantom and followed the video and manuals to get to power up stage.

    Unfortunately though all I get is a constant flashing RED LED and nothing else. :? Double checked the battery, its fully charged.

    When I connect to the assistant software it all seems fine. I have calibrated the controller and that seemed to go ok too.

    Anyone have any advice please?
     
  2. lightfighter363

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    All i know is the battery when it's flashing red.
     
  3. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    How are you checking battery ? which values shows eachj cell ?
     
  4. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im just using the standard charger and keeping it plugged in till I get the solid green light. Its the battery that came with the Phantom not an after market one. I set the charger up the same as the video, LiPo 3A 3S

    In the assistant software I am getting a "CFG Error" that says there may be a problem with the 3.16 Firmware Upgrade, Im not sure if the two things are related.

    Can you rollback the Firmware Upgrade ?
     
  5. lightfighter363

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
  6. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So could be a faulty battery ?
     
  7. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeap... some are faulty and doesn't charge enough or went under 3.0 v per cell so are unusable.
     
  8. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks that makes sense, I hope that's all it is, I will get another battery and se what happens. Cheers
     
  9. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Rigger609

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    South East USA
    just a quick question, did you do the 360 dance? If so have you connected it to your computer?
     
  11. Razorback

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys

    All fixed. This was the solution ...

    viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2365 :D

    The problem was the controller was too far out of calibration with the Phantom so it wouldn't allow anything to start.

    If you get a little yellow alert triangle in the bottom corner of the screen after upgrading to 3.16, you need to follow this fix basically or you will just get a series of red flashes and nothing will work. Its all related it just happened that because I was also dealing with a new unit, the battery thing could have been true too, so it was a bit confusing.

    Thanks for the input everyone

    Cheers