Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

fitting to Phantom 1?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by Compound#22, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. Compound#22

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good evening all,

    Probably been asked loads of times but I have literally just unboxed my Phantom 1 and after speaking to a friend he suggested I look at getting the h3 3d gimbal for the gopro camera as opposed to the one that came with it. I just wondered if this was a complicated fitment or could someone with limited soldering and technical know how manage or is it best left to an expert?

    Thanks for any info or advice...

    Have a feeling I will be using this forum alot...and spending alot :)

    Mike
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Welcome Mike!

    You have several options for how to make your P1 compatible with the H3-3D, this thread will give you details on them and more instructions: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=19006
     
  3. Compound#22

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, I have had a look, one shows some soldering, and the other is pug and play.... will need to investigate further as I want to order one tomorrow but want to make sure I order all I need....

    Going to be a long night...
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Both options will require at least some soldering...the PMU would have to be soldered to the power connections on the mainboard, or if you got the upgrade board you'd have to resolder each of the ESC connection points.