Reaction score
Hi,
I just got a phantom 3 standard for Christmas and it's my first drone so I'm a bit of a noob at flying. I've been flying pretty often on beginner mode but my Dads canoe club are going canoe surfing at the beach tomorrow. They want me to make a short promo video of them with my drone to attract new members (weather permitting of course).

This will be my first time flying over the sea (or any water for that matter) and I'm quite nervous about it. Has anyone got any tips that might help me tomorrow?

This is my first post on here and I'm sorry there's another thread on this. Any tips are much appreciated.

Mark

Last edited:
Make sure your battery is fully charged, set the home point at a location on land (if possible), and don't try to fly every last available minute out of the battery. You can also land and put in a fresh battery when it's getting low.

Yes there are many threads relating to flying over water but being your first time you might want to see if you can frame the footage whilst in beginners mode to reduce any distance or height distractions that might pop up whilst filming. Take off and land on a platform of some description to prevent sand or dirt getting into the motors. Don't fly near people, watch out for birds, keep a reasonable height above the water and don't panic. Might want to do a test run if possible to get comfortable with the controls and filming to see how it feels.

Make sure your battery is fully charged, set the home point at a location on land (if possible), and don't try to fly every last available minute out of the battery. You can also land and put in a fresh battery when it's getting low.
Thanks for the feedback. I have my low battery warning set to 30% so I'll have plenty of warning. Definitely, won't be taking any risks with battery life.