Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fc40 with Gropro without gimbal?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by thevolkp, Oct 4, 2014.

  1. thevolkp

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone does this.....
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro without gimbal?

    I made a few flights with the GoPro mounted where the FC40 camera would have been mounted.
    It is like DJI built the FC40 camera attachment point to fit the GoPro 131’/40m Waterproof Housing.

    It was great. :D

    You can tell the GoPro to flip the video over so you're not viewing it upside down.
     
  3. arvy55

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro without gimbal?

    Of course its possible to attached a GoPro on the FC40 with or without a gimbal.
    For us as an FC40 pilot with a limit amount of battery life span i would recommend to fly without a gimbal due to the amount of flight time that will be taken away, unless you have to do some event shots which will need some planning on framing the shots. But well mines is built for FPV flying im getting roughly around 8-9 mins before my 1st warning starts to blink, and 11-12 minutes before it auto decents.

    Heres my first video flying for the month of October.
    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5yaIjNDySw[/youtube]
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro without gimbal?

    That's because they did :D It's the same original gopro mounting bracket from the P1, before the FC40 came along.
     
  5. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Fc40 with Gropro without gimbal?

    Since the GoPro is so much heavier, you might want to move the mount back under the center of gravity. Remove the front screw, loosen the rear screw, swing the camera mount around and mark where the new hole will go. Drill a small hole and put a small bolt through from the top - the bottom of the battery bay. This is the only tough part, getting that bolt through the hole.

    Using the longer/wider landing gear helps, too.