Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Enable Hardware Decode? iPad Air 2!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by charlie999, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. charlie999

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Should this be on or off?

    What's it do?

    I have read a few threads some say on some off? What are most doing?
     
  2. Sammynels

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    MA
    On
     
    tvckz likes this.
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    What I have seen recommended here most often and on the DJI site is that A7 processors have it on, and the A8 or A8X processors have it off.

    I have an Air 2, and have flown about 1/2 the time with it on and 1/2 the time with it off and so far I haven't seen any difference.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  4. charlie999

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cool. Do you get any interference or blocky picture on your Air 2? Do you turn off wifi and Bluetooth?

    I've only flown once with the Air 2 and had a blocky video even losing it a couple of times. I was tethering though to my iPhone via Bluetooth at the time.

    This is what got me thinking about Hardware Decode!!
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you are going to live stream, I believe it has to be off or youtube will not connect.. at least that is what was demonstrated in a video on youtube.
     
  6. charlie999

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes I saw that video too. Bloody setting don't they get you thinking!!! Lol.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    My Air 2 has been flawless. Very solid video, no lag, no blockiness, no loss. I normally have wifi on and bluetooth off, but I dont really think it matters. I have the bluetooth off most of the time just for battery savings, not because I'm afraid of any interference.
     
  8. charlie999

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've heard a lot of people say how well the Air 2 performs so was disappointed when mine was blocky. I think it was because I was tethering. I suppose when wifi and Bluetooth is on is one thing but when data is blasting back and forth it's another. Next flight out will be with them off so should be good.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
    Oso likes this.
  9. danjordrone

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    29
    Try wifi tether for maps then turn it off when u got whats needed.I do that and runs fine on air 2
     
  10. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I've never used it, it's Off. iPad Air 2. Video feed silky smooth. I tether to my iPhone to update maps, then switch to Airplane Mode.
     
  11. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248

    Mmm no that's crap. I have an air 2. Decoding on I live stream no problem.
     
  12. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are you guys running the video feed at 4 mbps or 6 mbps?
     
  13. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I use the 4mb setting
     
  14. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    I will try it off. It was always on - that may cause extra heating of ipad mini3 And yes I have changed it to 4 mbps
     
  15. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Mini 3 is an A7, so the recommendation is to enable hardware decode for best performance.
     
  16. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I use 6mbps. Just the auto default.
     
  17. Recce2

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    Interesting, are you tethering or have built in cell?
     
  18. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    LTE AT&T
     
  19. Recce2

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    Thanks, tethering seems to be the bottle neck.
     
    Julius717 likes this.
  20. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Were in the app is this setting to check or change ios by the way