Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Editing P3 Pro footage in Premier? Scrub lag & Chop

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Doolang, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I just went out and spent 2g+ on a new computer for editing, and it's completely non-usable. Even 1080p video chops like crazy. When I hit play in Premier, the video plays smoothly for about 4 seconds, then chop sets in and gets worse and worse until it's pretty much frozen. Scrubbing is so choppy it's impossible to get anything done. What the heck am I doing wrong here? Slightly frustrated since my old i5 27' imac with 512 video ram did a much better job. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Intel i7 3.6 ghz
    16gb DDR 3 ram
    4 gb (ddr5) 970 Strix OC edition video
    480gb SSD
    Windows 10
    Adobe Premier Pro CS6
     
    #1 Doolang, Jul 31, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2016
  2. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    That should work just fine. Probably a driver issue. I'm not much up on WIndows and never heard of Strix but have you downloaded the newest video driver and checked to make sure windows isn't using some horrid default driver that it found in a ditch somewhere?

    Check the video in the default player or VLC. Is is smooth there? If not, go back to the system driver. If it's OK, check your video settings in Premiere. Are you using hardware acceleration? Can you use the CUDA drivers? Is there a STRIX forum where people talk about video drivers?

    You can always go back and get that nice 27 inch 5K iMac with 24 GB ram. That's a pretty sweet setup for 4K video. For the price, it damned well ought to be.
     
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    That computer is more then enough to handle the footage in Premiere CS6.
     
  4. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd sure hope so. Also...Done with macs.
     
  5. AerialZ

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Your hardware is fine. Try changing your playback resolution once to see if it has an effect (see my attached image.) Are you rendering your clips or timeline before you're having these playback issues? Have you changed the program settings to Performance in Premiere and allotted appropriate RAM to the program, as well as system programs?

    Just a few hints to check on... PreProHint.jpg
     
    Doolang likes this.
  6. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just check on this stuff. The 1/2 resolution playback just barely helps. Premier is set to Performance, and I have 11gb for Premier, 4gb for other programs. I've found the dji files are my only video files that do this. Would love to figure this out!!
     
  7. Quadcopterpilot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
    Are you shooting in 4K?
    If yes no problem but convert to 1080p and then load into Premier
     
  8. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, it's doing it with all my phantom 3, 1080p 60fps files. Haven't even bothered to try 4K at this point.
     
  9. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    60 FPS files can be problematic. That's quite a bit of info and there seems to be an issue with DJI's implementation. Try 30 FPS and even 4K. If those are working well, it's probably DJI's fault. Do you need 60 FPS for something?
     
  10. Vichian-Bruno

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Thailand
    I would also recommend to use 30 FPS rather than 60.
    High value of FPS is normally used for slow motions.
    If you not intend to film some actions sports 30 FPS will work absolutely perfect.