Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

easy to install in phantom 1.1.1?

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by aaron456, Dec 3, 2014.

  1. aaron456

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I have never soldered before I opened up my V1.1.1 and installed the Fat-Shark Predator. It's easy! Find the accessory wires and connect them. I connected them to a quick clip so I could attach/detach as needed.
     
  3. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
  4. aaron456

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awsome ill look into that right away ! Thanks
    Im excited about the fpv.
    Whats the range like?
     
  5. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    While I've been disappointed with the reliability of the FPV monitor on my P2V+, my P1 live feed to the Predator is fast enough to fly the aircraft and never drops off. I haven't really tested for range but probably about 400-500 meters.
     
  6. aaron456

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats awsome range i had thought the 240mW transmitter with the fatshark only went 100-200 meters.
    Ive seen the 580mW upgrade chip on amazon so i was doubtful on the range.
    Thanks again for the cheapest link ive seen yet.
     
  7. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    I get 1.8km (and more but I didn't have the guts to go any further) with a standard Fatshark Predator V2 + a cheap 3$ panel antenna. With the stock whip I get around 1.6Km.

    Highly recommended!

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NP0sNTf_AKs[/youtube]

    Sorry I didn't record the FPV (dvr still on the boat from china) but you get a good sense of how far 1.8Km is. The FPV remained completely sharp and stable during the entire flight. I flew at 50m high.
     
  8. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860
    can you post a pic of your setup// thanks..

    just added another p1 to my fleet and I'm gonna mod this for fpv flights only I'm curious to see how you ran the wires and what you conntected to . also where you mounted the camera
     
  9. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I've sold my P1 and replaced it with a P2, with the same setup for the transmitter. On the P1 I used the fixed mount for my GoPro (no gimbal), but otherwise everything else is the same.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860
    where did you get power for the TX from on the p1?

    the go pro or balance port on battery or internal board?
     
  11. Clipper707

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Internally. I seem to remember two grey wires for accessories. This also powered the GoPro.