Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom & Futaba 6EX-2.4

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ems_pilot, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wonder if anyone has the configuration to program the Futaba 6EX-2.4Mhz to fly the Phantom 1.1.1 ? Does using the Futaba receiver and Tx give more reliable and extended range? Thanks....
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I'm sure it would just as well if not better than the stock Phantom Tx.

    however, with only 6 channels, if you add a gimbal, you might not be able to tilt it

    consider the T8j or better.
     
  3. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 6EX now.... might upgrade in the future but broke the bank this week buying the Phantom 1.1.1, iPad ground station and FPV setup. :? Thanks!
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    :shock:

    Doesn't that mean you'll need to carry the data link transmitter and BTU as well?
     
  5. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I might have jumped the gun on the iPad Ground Station... The reason I went with the 5.4MHz FPV rather than try the GoPro 2.4MHz was the probable interference between the 2.4 signals. Now it dawns on me the iPad Ground Station works 2.4MHz.... Anybody want to buy a new Ground Station???
     
  6. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    It occurred to me at 2:45 am that I will probably be okay with the iPad Ground Station on 2.4MHz... the caveat about using the GoPro Wi-Fi concerns interference with the Phantom 2.4MHz radio but the iPad setup will be using the Phantom 2.4 so I don't think there is a conflict? Sound right or should I go back to bed and think about it some more? :?
     
  7. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I install the iPad Ground Station on the Phantom 1.1.1 and test can anyone conform my theory that the Ground Station uses the 2.4Mhz NAZA and there should be no conflict between 2.4 signals? From what I can see there is only one 2.4 signal... Right - ? Thanks. :cool:
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    What hardware did you get with the ground station? The data link uses its own two-way 2.4GHz connection, and the iPad will connect through the special Bluetooth module.

    The first page of this .pdf shows you the connection setup: http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... .06_en.pdf
     
  9. ems_pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the DJI Ground Station package... DJI 2.4 GHZ BLUETOOTH DATALINK + IPAD GROUND STATION
    The a package uses the DataLink module. Thanks 4 the quick reply.