Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI iOSD mini strip down to reduce weight

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcampen, May 17, 2015.

  1. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    This is an example of a DJI iOSD mini strip down to reduce weight and reduce clutter in your Phantom 2 or other DJI builds.

    On many of our Phantom's we are using for stills work we are using a SonyRX100 which although is light, is quite heavy for the Ph2. So our aim is to always strip down any unnecessary weight as much as possible.

    We also mount these iOSD mini's internally together with cam plug connector. This means we don't need the casing and original cabling and plug and sockets the iOSD mini comes with.

    Here are some photos of the DJI iOSD mini striped down and rewired up.

    This reduce it weight by around 12gr
    20150518_073045.jpg
    20150518_072844.jpg
    20150518_072908.jpg
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Very cool,

    Any chance of labeling the wires for those of us not in the know? :)
     
  3. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    As I understand it.
    Yellow - TX or RX
    Orange - RX or TX
    Brown - GND /Negative
    Red - VCC/Positive

    I never interfered with the wires coming out of the iOSD itself other than cutting off the cable at 5cm and striping off the outer black sheath. So the 4 wires is how they were originally connected to the iOSD board itself. I then just soldered them to the cam mount board where the cam socket was removed.

    After cutting it off, I plugged in the cable to the socket on the cam mount and used a multimeter to check which pins they match with which colour wire

    So if you follow and match the connections as shown in the photos you cant go wrong.

    Any doubts at all , check with a multimeter that you have the correct pin outs matching.
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    For the yellow and orange wires, are you not sure so you listed RX and TX?
    OR
    Does it not matter which goes where?
     
  5. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Like many others, I too have done basically the same thing with good results so no worries opening it up for those of you on the fence.
    I strip as much non-essential weight as possible from all accessories.
     
    jcampen likes this.
  6. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Yes correct, I'm really not sure which is the RX or TX but I am pretty sure that's what the orange and yellow wires are. I tried to follow the traces to see which is which, but wasn't able to find it out.

    So that was the reason I posted the high res photos so that if you follow exactly how mine looks and connects up, it will work. The ones Ive done so far all work properly.
     
  7. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Ok, cool,

    Someone smarter than us will show up with the answer, I hope.
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    alpaca.jpg
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  9. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    I don't know how to reply to that question... :p

    How you doin LuvMyTJ?
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
  11. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The four wires are CAN-H, CAN-L, VCC, GND. You don't need that clunky connector on the leg. You can splice right into the ribbon cable.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Thanks very much ianwood. :D
    Now if that was a picture of a FC40 or P1, I wouldn't be dizzy and could do it to mine.
     
  13. stan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Ianwood,

    You need to redo the solder joints at the OSD can cable and the power tap. They don't look good on this picture
     
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Friend of yours ianwood? ROFLMAO :D
     
  15. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Good eye. Didn't see that. Those joints are indeed weak. Thankfully, not mine! I snagged the pic from RCG.
     
  16. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Good job!. I did think to do that as well, but 1.)The white silicon is very tough and I was worried about damaging any component under neath it while hacking it off. And .2) I assume the component on the can port board it has a diode, but I wasn't sure so so rather than risk that and the fiddling around to remove it and include it, I decided to include the can port board instead. But after seeing this then obviously the diode or what ever it is isn't needed?

    upload_2015-5-19_7-35-59.png

    I'm probably going to get an *** kicking over my soldering now to.
     
  17. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ok done the same as well, and works fine without that component on the CAN socket board. Just a note weight wise, it removes about 2.5gr to remove the leg socket board.
     
  18. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    It's a termination resistor. It's only needed when nothing is plugged in.
     
  19. jcampen

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Malaysia
    yes that's what it seems to be, after testing, its not a diode. I just did a test flight around my living room and the iOSD seems to get quite warm. I cant recall if it did this before or not.