Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI 3 Pro Height Limit

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Specialist, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    8
    I know I know .. some will think i'm naughty for asking ;) .. Does anyone know if it's possible to by-pass the height restriction?.

    Here in the UK my drone is limited to 400ft which is a measly 120m. This is quite high but doesn't give me the flexibility I'd like.

    Most websites i've read say the limit is 500m which is 1600ft .. I'd be happy with that .. is 500m a US limit ?

    Thanks in advance
     
    mparry likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,035
    Likes Received:
    5,605
    Location:
    US
    The Phantom is not technically restricted to 400 feet in any country. You can fly as high as 500 meters.
     
  3. Hamguy

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Auburn Indiana
    Here in U.S. the FAA has set a limit of 400 ft. Some folks have said that there is no real advantage to going any higher, anyway.
     
  4. Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    8
    When I hit 400ft - I get red alert and text saying limit reached and the drone stops ascending.. it won't let me push through the 400ft mark.
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    There is an adjustable limit. Sounds like yours is set to 400 ft.
    There is a physical limit of 500 metres
     
  6. todd hawkeye

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    5
    If I red it correctly its 400 feet near airports. 7 miles? I think. That was on my faa registration
     
  7. todd hawkeye

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    5
    Read not red
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,035
    Likes Received:
    5,605
    Location:
    US
    The Phantom is programmed to stop at 400 feet by default. You need to increase the "Set maximum flight altitude" setting in the "MC Settings" section of the DJI GO app.
     
  9. Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you all, i'll give this a test tomorrow .. I've seen the setting within the application now.
     
  10. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    400ft is "recommended" by the FAA for safe operation. But not required by law. So is all the other "guidelines" they suggest.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    m0j0, tmwsiy, tcope and 2 others like this.
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,035
    Likes Received:
    5,605
    Location:
    US
    It's a great recommendation. Just fly safe. That's what's most important :)
     
  12. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    Yeah well I've been as high as the limit 1400' something feet. It's cool in remote areas. But you lose range going that high. 400' and a few miles out is where it's at


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    Flying today over a remote valley, I went up 800' and had a Helicopter come right next to my copter. I assume he was aware I was there?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Why would you assume that?
     
  15. Hamguy

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Auburn Indiana
    Risky operation will result in rules, for sure. Following the "suggestions" is a sign of respect for others– kinda like not speeding in a residential neighborhood.
     
    snowghost and Tbullseye like this.
  16. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Drones are hard to see until relatively close or you catch them below and over contrasting terrain or at night and they have nav lights on.

    If he was real close and not above you, he likely didn't see you. Most attempt to keep the rotor wash between you and them.................
     
  17. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    Well I was in the middle of nowhere, and he was flying below 500' I would say. I moved away when I saw, then heard him.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Daniel Voyer likes this.
  18. CactusJackSlade

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    114
    Glad you took evasive action.... it is your responsibility to stay clear of aircraft, regardless if they are below their supposed 500 foot AGL level.
     
  19. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That's a silly assumption and if you are ever in the air and a commercial aircraft is in the area and it's not in your direct control you should land or remove your craft from it's location.
     
  20. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Wait for it...


    Phantom 3 Pro / iPad Air 2