Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

different size props on same machine

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by digidydawg, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. digidydawg

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would it be possible to run three 9" props and one 8". I'm obviously going to replace the damaged 9" propellor but I was thinking that I have some 8" ones and wouldn't the motor just compensate for the smaller propellor by running a little faster?? Please be gentle with your answers:)
    digidydawg
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Its a bad idea. I would just use the full set of 8 inch props you have. You might setup some fairly significant occilations
     
  3. John Shaw

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ozzyguy is right. I wouldn't even consider using a mismatched set of props. We have no idea what would happen and it is unlikely that DJI designed for that.
     
  4. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Ummm... I'm sorry... But with the current state of DJI firmware running standard hardware... You're asking if it's wise to attempt to run three nine inch props and one eight inch prop? I'm doing my very best to be kind with my answer... I truly am.

    But my answer, no matter how I try to mitigate the perceived negative implications... is... NO!!!!

    WTF are you thinking??? :D

    -slinger
     
  5. RichardWendt

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you also should change a new motor for your "new" props, or it can be burn your motor..