Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DashWare with Windows 10

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ebfoxbat, May 17, 2015.

  1. ebfoxbat

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just installed windows 10 on my Mac under bootcamp- solely for the purpose of running my P3 videos though DashWare.

    It crashes when I try to export my project. I'm wondering if it's a problem with ffmpeg or the fact that it's 4k.

    Doesn't anyone have DashWare working with Windows 10?
     
  2. ebfoxbat

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    I got it working... turns out DashWare doesn't like 4k footage.

    That said... I can't get it to output 23.976 fps to match the P3P at 4k... one thing at a time.
     
  3. 2k3sgm

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    34
    I have it working, seems just fine for me. However I'm not trying to work with 4K video, just 1080P.
     
  4. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Not working for me since I upgraded from 7 to 10.

    Throws up an fmpeg error.

    Tried uninstalling and reinstalling DashWare, no joy :(

    Any ideas? I'm only working with 1080
     
  5. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    Is your video files recorded in MP4? Check the DJI settings as dash ware bombed out if I didn't record in mp4
     
  6. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Will check, ta
     
  7. Forts

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've never, ever been able to get Dashware to work on any of my machines (XP, 7 & 8) so I thought I would give it a try on an upgraded Win10 machine. And low and behold it works! So excited to actually be able to play with this now. I was using RaceRender previously, which does a nice job, but the selection of gauges is quite limited.
     
  8. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Never heard of this software till now. I'm about to do an FPV setup on my P2 (Immersion 600, iOSD Mini, Black Pearl monitor). Would I be able to use DashWare with this setup??
     
  9. fschilder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    From another forum, apparently GoPro has stated that Dashware won't work with 4K and currently no plans to do it. I get the same FFMPEG issue ever since going to Windows 10. I can edit 4K in Dashware but can't create the video.
     
  10. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    ffmpeg is supported natively in Windows 10, so if you're working with a Dashware that was installed prior to upgrading to Windows 10, it's quite possible the ffmpeg.exe included w/ Dashware is conflicting with the Windows 10 implementation. I would either a) uninstall Dashware completely (not just delete the folder) and do a fresh install, or b) download ffmpeg from the interwebs and copy ffmpeg.exe to the Dashware folder (overwriting the one already there).

    Disclaimer: I have not tried this, do not have Windows 10, do not use Dashware. I am just a pretty technical dude.
     
  11. Bryce

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    95
    If your win7 works.... Well, just like iOS 9... Why do it unless there is a compelling reason? So many millions of lines of code to get just right, I'm surprised any of it works. God bless your efforts!!!