County Sheriff Department authorizing civilians to shoot drones?

Reaction score
I live in a rural area of the United States in the upper mid-west.

Our county seat, which is where I work, has a population of about 18,000 people or less.

I work in retail.

Yesterday, a gentleman was in and somehow the subject of "drones" (cringe) came up.

He stated the local Sheriff's Department has authorized him to use a shotgun to shoot at a quadcopter that he claims flies over his property approximately 5-10 feet above head height.

I couldn't ignore it, but tried to be diplomatic and informed him I believe the Sheriff's Department has given him some bad advise (assuming he was actually told this). It is illegal, to my knowledge to shoot down an aircraft, even a hobby aircraft and the FAA may get involved if you do.

He seems intent on doing so. Said they have talked to the operator and the Sheriff's Department has also spoke to the operator. (Mind you, I am getting this third person, so I cannot confirm these actually took place).

I tried to point out that one of these over your property does not necessarily mean the camera is pointing down at you. The operator "should" be respectful enough to attempt to avoid your property, or at least cross it in an expeditious manner, if they must.

He seemed to not really care. So, will keep everyone posted. What I find ironic is the Sheriff's Department recently obtained one to utilize in the field. Sure would hate for them to be doing S & R and have someone shoot "theirs" down because they flew over the property of someone they gave permission to do so.

More to come, on this, I am sure.

People don't seem to realize how dangerous it is to shoot down an UAV. It could crash land into a person, car, or other property. If the battery is pierced it then becomes a fireball. Oh, then there's the whole Federal Crime thing you brought up.