Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Wales UK
    You must update the craft before you update the controller otherwise you will loose control link and will be unable to update the craft via DJI go

    If you update the controller but can't update the craft via Assistant 2 for some reason you can downgrade the RC back to V1.580 as follows

    Connect the controller to the Tablet and turn on

    On the DJI Go home screen press and hold the Academy (little hat) icon in the top RH corner, you will need to hold this for at least 10 seconds and when you release you should get the below screen

    [​IMG]


    This will allow you to select the last FW version and downgrade the controller allowing you to reconnect.


    Then FW Update

    IOS Process

    Turn on Craft and controller and you will be notified of an update is available.

    [​IMG]

    Click on the Firmware Requires Upgrade and it will show you the RC Requires Updating at the top, do nothing at this point

    [​IMG]

    Wait a few more seconds and it will pop up with the craft requires an update as well

    [​IMG]

    Click the craft update and it will tell you to return to the main screen, you will see the following

    [​IMG]


    Click update now and download the update

    [​IMG]

    I found mine keeps pausing on the download, you may need to turn off your craft and controller at this point as Lightbrige may be interfering with your wifi connection preventing the download.


    Once downloaded you will need to connect the Tablet to the craft via the USB cable DJI provided, turn on both the craft and controller, after a short time it will allow you to begin the update

    Note this update was silent for me with a craft reboot at 96%, the gimbal may twitch as the update proceeds, all normal.

    [​IMG]

    Once complete turn everything off and then turn on just the controller

    Now you will get the RC requires update message on its own this time, Click Download Firmware then update.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Once downloaded and updated you should see RC Upgrade Complete, interesting this part of the rc update again was completely silent.

    [​IMG]

    Reboot everything and i got the 'Cannot Take Off' error, it again asked me to update the controller, this time the controller updated again but with the normal update tones we are used to, blue flashing LED as well.

    [​IMG]

    Once complete

    [​IMG]


    Rebooted and everything was up to date and working.

    As i said a little clunky at the moment, getting better not not perfect yet.
     
    Turbomania, Romonaga, MikeBrz and 3 others like this.
  2. normr

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    56
    Thanks for the great set of instructions, if I would have gotten that orange bar telling me to update the aircraft before I got into camera mode that would have prevented the whole problem, they need to work on this whole update order and method


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Romonaga and snowghost like this.
  3. Fitcherama

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    40
    Followed your instructions and all went well. Thanks for documenting.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Wingman624

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    You saved me from the crazy house!! Very good write up and documentation with the screen shots. Thank you!!
     
  5. Big E

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, when I try to downgrade my firmware I don't get anything in the box, my remote has a red led when turned on. This happened after I upgraded the firmware.
     
  6. elan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You rock, thanks so much for the great instructions!
     
  7. Brock123

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is great... thanks!
     
  8. alex procenko

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi pls help,iv beend update firmware first on Remote and aircraft was turned on,after update remote it asks reboot was succsesfull installed and i reboot remote and now its not turn on any led no beep,its always a bit hot below and phone in dji go see remote but not works even and cant see aircraft,and downgrade i cant cuz before flash its ask remove prev firwamre i delete it( wat to do? help
     
  9. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland

    Hi! So you DIDN't read this before starting to put your P4 to fly condition. I did and thank God I did!

    Follow the link and search page 13. Then chapter FIRMWARE and section 4 to 5. There is a word " AFTER". Always read manuals first even they are boring! I think you must contact DJI.. Feeling sorry for ya. I'm not that expert on these..

    https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/pha...imer_and_Safety_Guidelines_v1.2_en_160317.pdf
     
  10. lee287778

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    good instructions guys
    but having the same problem,, i held the hat down hoping that after following your instructions i get this pop up
    any ideas guys would be grateful
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland
    Have you tried unistalling Go app and then installed it again? Open new Go app so that you have the USB cable connected to Rc and wait if it says you to update program. Don't click the camera option before you have that update option in go app start screen. I really don't know if this will help you or not but hope so. Also try open the go app before powering your rc and second option when it's already on. I see in your pic that it doesn't even know your version anymore so I'm out off options after this Hope you get it to work.
     
  12. lee287778

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have tried every thing,, i no its the RC software,, was all working fine before the upgrade,,, im not sure where to go from here
     
  13. Evandro Damasceno

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is painful. Follow exactly the steps, bird first then RC with absolutelly no problem, all Sucess but still No Signal, no Image and "Firmware is of the lastest version" "Abnormal" "Aircraft encoder error".

    Everything else seems all good, Aircraft responds RC perfectly, Green lights everything... no signal, no image.

    I bought far way from home since in Brazil doesn't have official dealers, I don't know what to do anymore.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.

    Any instructions how to downgrade P3A firmware ? v1.8.80 --> to v1.7.0060
    Thanks
     
  15. Randall Parsons

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not sure if it is the same as P4 but you hold the "Graduate" icon on the GO app for 7 seconds.
     
  16. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.
    Yes it is the same, but isn't it only downgrades firmware on RC? what about the quad? I want to downgrade the quad and not sure if its possible, i've tried to put firmware in the bin and load it to quad but it didn't work. No changes.
     
  17. Randall Parsons

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    11
    I might just blow your mind. Use the on the go adapter that came with the quad and hook the bird up to the remote (or device, damnit i forget which one) and then hold the graduate button. You should see an option to downgrade the bird as well.
     
  18. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.
    Thanks for your reply. Well done! No I can confirm it's possible to downgrade the craft and the RC. What I did was I pressed and hold the button and turn on the craft. Once the craft is on I release holding. I had previews FW on SD card and was able to downgrade. After downgrading the craft I do press 10 sec on GRAD icon on DJI Go app and donwgrade RC firmware. After everything was done I did test flight and no more weak signal and disconnection. I flew 5000' with good signal. Around 5000' automatically RTH. And that because I believe I was flying over the city.
     
  19. Randall Parsons

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    11
    Awesome man. Glad you got it working.
     
  20. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.
    Here's the results from today's flight after downgrade. Perfect!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]