Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Conection Prob. between Quad and PC

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by msross, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    I just received P2V+ Monday ....Following the owners manual to the letter....P2V+ will not connect or communicate with the PC to check for updates....Should I pack up the quad and send it back? I haven't flown it, didn't want to fly with out checking the download first....What should I do? Thanks, Mike....
     
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Are you on a PC? Did you install the WIndows drivers? If yes, are you connecting to the USB port on the front of the Phantom under the rubber cover? Do NOT connect to the gimbal USB.
     
  3. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    You didn't say if you had installed the windows drivers and the assistant software and the rc software.
     
  4. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    Yes, yes, yes....Driver has been installed and USB is plugged into the correct port.....It connects fine to the transmitter....Mike
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Plug in the Phantom with it powered on. You should hear the Windows sound when it connects to the device. Then run the Software Assistant.
     
  6. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    According to the manual the two indicators at the bottom left of the screen should light up green and blinking blue....It does not do this....It stays red and blue....I do get the sound when I plug in to PC....On the P2V+ Assistant screen, everything under the Advanced area states none....
     
  7. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    I find that I can't have it plugged into the PC when I power on the Phantom. It doesn't recognize it correctly until after it's "booted up". If I plug it in too soon, I have to unplug it and plug it back in.
     
  8. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    SO....You have the Software Assistant up and running and then you turn on the P2V+ and then plug into the PC? Correct? Mike....
     
  9. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Power on the Phantom first. Give it time for the Phantom firmware to boot. Then connect to PC, wait for connect sound. Then run Software Assistant. You may have to uninstall everything and reinstall again if that doesn't work. If you have a second PC, try it there. Some users reported having issues that were not corrected by an uninstall, but it worked fine on another computer.
     
  10. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    I have done all that, still nothing....I don't have another PC....Mike
     
  11. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Do you have another USB cable you can try just to make sure that isn't the problem?
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Can you use System Restore to revert to BEFORE you installed the DJI software?
     
  13. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10
    do you have 2 programs installed on the PC? you need to install DJI windows installer before phantom 2 installer or it will not recognise the phantom. it will ask you to plug in the phantom ( switched on along with the tranny ) during the installation of the windows installer but it DOES NOT refer to the phantom as a phantom. I think it calls it RC or something like making you think you should plug the tranny in and not the phantom. plug in the phantom.
     
  14. msross

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas 78232
    Yes, that's what it was....I did not know to install the DJI Win_Driver_Installer....Works like a champ now....DJI didn't tell us that....Thanks to all that helped....Mike
     
  15. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I find it's quite easy to not push the mini USB fully home into the phantom due to it being recessed

    But installing the driver first is a good plan :roll: