Complete noob with P4

Reaction score
I'm an absolute rookie to drones and actually made my first ever flight a few hours ago. It was also the maiden voyage of my newly acquired Phantom 4. All went well, I'm glad to say, with gentle landings exactly where I intended. The video footage of the first flight was nice and smooth but a bit dull as I'm still in Beginner mode.
I'm a photographer by profession (well, in practice, I suppose these days I'm a wordsmith and picture-jack) and am looking forward to aerial photography and videography. I live in the UK... right in the middle, in Burton-on-Trent (famous for its beer brewing heritage). Derbyshire's Peak District National Park is not far away which should provide some good drone footage opportunities. Semi-retired aged 73, I am really looking forward to a new activity. I hope to incorporate a drone capability into my self-employed photography and graphic design business in due course.
I shall follow the forum with interest in the hope that a few gems of knowledge emerge. I have no doubt that they will.
Tony.

Reactions: Loomster
Hi Tony , I am not getting my Dji Phantom 4 till this next weekend, I am in the UK as well and have never used one before. I am also a photographer and I'm get near to 68 but think it is time to move to try new technology. Did you have any problems setting up your drone or any other issues. Cheers, Michael

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

Reactions: Loomster
Welcome aboard. Read, read and then read some more! Watch videos and tutorials. Start out with short flights in good conditions, preferably a large open area! You'll find that almost all crashes are pilot error. Relax and don't panic!

Now go have some fun!! :)

Reactions: Teejay41