Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

CE and FCC versions

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by robby666111, May 4, 2014.

  1. robby666111

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waiuku, New Zealand
    Hi,
    I have a 2.4GHz ground station.
    I see there are two modes, CE and FCC. The FCC mode is almost twice the range of the CE mode.
    How do you change between the two modes? From what I can tell the default mode is CE. As I am not in Europe, I am permitted to use the FCC mode, but can't find any information on how to switch over.
    Any help greatly appreciated.
    Rob.
    P2V+GS - New Zealand.
     
  2. Visioneer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky, USA
  3. robby666111

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waiuku, New Zealand
    Hey,
    Thanks for the rely. I was talking about changing the range mode for the Ground Station, not the remote controller.
    Do you have any ideas on that?
    Cheers
    Rob.
     
  4. Visioneer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky, USA
    Oops, sorry - not familiar with Ground Station
     
  5. robby666111

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waiuku, New Zealand
    I received an answer to this issue from DJI.
    The short of it is that it is not possible to change the mode of the data link from CE to FCC. But in order to get FCC range you only need to change the ground unit of the data link. The air side unit is the same for both FCC and CE. Not sure how easy it is to buy just the ground side unit, but DJI have indicated to me that it is possible.
    I think I'll just stick to my CE version, as it is giving me a good 1km radius range which really is more than enough.

    Cheers
    Rob.
     
  6. Nidge

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
    Out of curiosity I opened mine up to see if there was any redundent parts that might suggest the difference between a CE version and a FCC version.

    If you remove the RF module there is a second antenna socket. I'm unable to see if this is a second output or if it's merely a port for use as a diversity antenna. If someone who has purchased a FCC version, mine is CE, is brave enough to open up their unit to see if the antenna connection is on the oposite port to mine?

    Regards

    Nidge
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Nidge

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
    As an addition I thought about testing the second port but unfortunately all my RF test and measurement equipment is only good up to 1.7GHz

    Nidge