Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you fly Phantom 3 Without Camera & Gimbal?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by James D, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. James D

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just bought a phantom and would like to know if anyone has any experience with flying it without the gimbal on it and still being able to use the software on the tablet.

    I would like to put a different camera on there. many thanks!
     
  2. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    107
    Yes I have a p3p with no gimbal or camera and I fly it no problem.
    No you can't seamlessly add a different camera and have fpv
     
    James D likes this.
  3. James D

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Phantomic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    23
    You can't use the app. without the gimbal attached because the transmitter responsible for video & telemetry is located in the top part of the gimbal.
     
  5. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    107
    That is absolutely not correct as I fly my p3p without ggimbal using dji go app!!
    Now if you are talking about p3 standard, I wouldn't know!
     
  6. Phantomic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes, talking about the standard.
     
    Zuzua likes this.
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You can definitely fly P3P without Gimbal / Cam.