Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you fly Phantom 3 Without Camera & Gimbal?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by James D, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. James D

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just bought a phantom and would like to know if anyone has any experience with flying it without the gimbal on it and still being able to use the software on the tablet.

    I would like to put a different camera on there. many thanks!
     
  2. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    110
    Yes I have a p3p with no gimbal or camera and I fly it no problem.
    No you can't seamlessly add a different camera and have fpv
     
    James D likes this.
  3. James D

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Phantomic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    You can't use the app. without the gimbal attached because the transmitter responsible for video & telemetry is located in the top part of the gimbal.
     
  5. Zuzua

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    110
    That is absolutely not correct as I fly my p3p without ggimbal using dji go app!!
    Now if you are talking about p3 standard, I wouldn't know!
     
  6. Phantomic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yes, talking about the standard.
     
    Zuzua likes this.
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    2,080
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You can definitely fly P3P without Gimbal / Cam.
     
  8. Kellyj

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Very true,

    I currently fly my P3 Pro with out gimbal/camera and receive all telemetry except that of the camera settings and FPV of course.

    Best,

    Kellyj
     
  9. PhantomPhrank

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    I recently crashed my P3S and was not able to fly it without the gimbal. Go app would show red Remote Controller Weak Signal and binding the remote would just beep endlessly without success. As a test I hooked up the grey ribbon cable and everything came up fine. Apparently there is something on the gimbal circuit board that is needed in the standard.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - fly Phantom Without Forum Date
How to fly phantom 4 without FPV? Phantom 4 Discussion Mar 24, 2016
Can the Phantom fly without a tablet or phone? Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 23, 2015
Will a Phantom 3 fly and film without a mobile device? Standard/4k Discussion Oct 23, 2015
Can I fly my phantom 2+ without the gimbal camera Phantom 2 Vision + Help Apr 12, 2015
Phantom 2, flying without H3-3D question Phantom 2 Discussion Jan 1, 2015