Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you change Vision+ to 2.4 from 5.8

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by beech1972, May 23, 2014.

  1. beech1972

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Sorry am new to all this, so sorry if this sounds a stupid question.

    Today the UK CAA have banned UAV's who operate on 5.8 for commercial work, is it at all possible to change the vision + to operate on 2.4ghz rather than 5.8?

    we have just taken delivery of ours, although not had it out the box yet.

    many Thanks

    Graham
     
  2. dabe1971

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    They have ? Where's the PR from the CAA stating that ?
     
  3. beech1972

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got an email today from the resource group thats 5.8 has been temporary suspended pending testing.

    Some uncertainty exists within industry about the integrity of 5.8Ghz, especially at further ranges and it was the decision of the CAA SUASSP to temporarily suspend the issue of PFAW’s to those applicants with RPAS which use 5.8Ghz.
     
  4. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Meh boll*x... Getting sick of the CAA and all it's rules now....


    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk 2 Pro
     
  5. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Ive seen a p2 changed from 2.4 to 5.8, something to do with adding lightbridge but there is no point in changing a pv2+ from 5.8 to 2.4 because you will lose all camera functions. Best send it back and get a P2 with Gopro system or else maybe just say nothing and pretend the footage came from a 2.4 quad???