Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you change the default 20 metre auto level

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by daveth1956, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. daveth1956

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys, first post but here goes, I have a vision 2+ and plan to fly around some tall buildings, can the default 20 metre auto fly home level be increased to a higher value?
     
  2. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Yes but you must be in naza m mode with IOC enabled. Take off then fly to desired height. Flip S2 rapidly from center to bottom position until you see a set of rapid green flashes on the rear phantom LEDs. Your home position is then reset to that position. And the RTH height is 20 m above that.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    You can do this in any mode - not just NAZA mode.
    Climb to desired height, flick the S2 switch down and up 5 times, watch the fast green blinking and you are set at a new home point + RTH level.
    BUT .. if you are a new flier and plan to fly "around some tall buildings" be aware of some potential issues.
    1/..Tall buildings (especially if there are more than one) can block your view of the sky and reduce your satellite reception. If you lose sat lock how would that affect your planned flying?
    2/..If you fly around an object and lose line of sight, you will probably lose control signal and the bird will try to come home after climbing to whatever RTH height you set. You don't want it to try to fly through a building.