Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can the PV2+ be upgraded to take GOLNASS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by daveth1956, May 2, 2015.

  1. daveth1956

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I some times struggle to get a good GPS lock and even so it can drop one or two when videoing (mod done) is there a GPS upgrade that will include GLONASS as well as it would more than double the Sat count
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Not likely to see a drop-in upgrade esp. now that the P2 are going to be phased out (EOL).
    I haven't looked in a while but I don't recall ever reading about someone 'hacking' or 'mashing' one up for the P2s.
     
  3. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    It would need hardware and software changes so as above, not likely. There is a next stage, the European Galileo, Chinese and Indians all have satellites up there.
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    which mod have you done?
    I have done the 4mm puck and foil mod. Gives me 14 sats at most and 9 at worst.
     
    Jan Erik likes this.
  5. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
  6. daveth1956

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply's guys. @Maco79, I have done the foil mod to cover the GPS unit
     
  7. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    The foil mod in V3 is not needed...
     
  8. popeye

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0