Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can camera be set to always record while in flight?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Brian Hockenstein, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. Brian Hockenstein

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wondering if there's a way to avoid "oops, wasn't filming" syndrome and have the video camera begin recording automatically upon takeoff?
     
  2. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
  3. pchin2

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Philippines
    You can start recording before each takeoff. Include this as part of your SOP. :)

    Actually, it's easy to notice on the DJI Go app screen if you're currently recording or not once you're familiar with the interface. ;)
     
  4. ovyyus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    28
    Litchi has auto record in the camera settings:

    "Auto Record: Enable/distance Auto recording. Auto record starts/stops when motors start/stop."
     
    #4 ovyyus, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
    Chris Vedeler likes this.
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Put label on your recorder reminding you start recording-- that is what I did
     
  6. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    Yes. Use the Litchi app instead of DJI Go.
     
  7. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    Autopilot has a similar setting:- "Start video recording upon engaging". Works well,.
     
  8. Wizaerd

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    20
    Oddly enough, if using the POI on the DJI GO app, it's interface covers up the right hand of the screen, and covers the video recording UI which irked me to no end...
     
  9. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    There is a "Hide" option to click on which will open up the camera buttons.
     
  10. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Yup. But you can also hide that window and then bring it back up by pressing the light blue flight mode box next to the middle green GPS box.
     
  11. apsphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    There is also a button on the RC that lets you start and stop video recording.... just saying.... so if you want the window up you can still start and stop video recording.

    Alan
     
  12. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    use the button on the controller for all the camera functions that are covered- much easier than dealing with the screen--
     
  13. Wizaerd

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    20
    Except if the POI screen is covering the camera functions, hitting the button on the controller may start recording, but it may also stop recording. Without visibility, you won't know if you're recording or not.

    Like others have said, hiding it works, but I dislike hiding it if it's the currently active mode. I'd much rather move it out of the way instead of just hiding it.
     
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    hide the screen -- do your check and reopen the screen with the icon at the top left