Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Black Pearl screen blank...

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Hjones62, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I'm totally baffled!! Packed my Phantom 2 on Friday of last week to head up to Halloween Horror Nights in Orlando. I actually got no flight time due to all the partying. Literally just unpacked my Phantom 2 to go up and fly around the neighborhood and when I powered up the monitor I got the Black Pearl logo and then got no picture from the Gopro. I checked all connections and everything looks good. I also went thru all the channels on the monitor to see maybe if I accidentally changed a channel and nothing. Does anyone know where I should start to troubleshoot this issue?
     
  2. smallman28

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    I assume you know there is a little bit more to getting video from the Gopro to the BP rather than just switching both on?
    You need a video transmitter on the Phantom that will transmit video from the Gopro to the BP.
    That's it in very simple terms,the Gopro has no video transmitting ability as it stands.
     
  3. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    Bit more information please. This arrangement work before?

    Did the GoPro record anything? What video transmitter and was it powered up? Correct antennas and tight?

    Two antennas on Black Pearl? Set to diversity mode?
     
  4. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    @Smallman28 Lol, my bad Brother and thanks for the quick response. Of course I have a transmitter, i'm currently using a Immersion RC 600mw 5.8 GHz A/V Transmitter. I've flew over 20 times at least with no video feed issues nor recording issues. Here it is all I did was pack the Phantom 2 in the travel case a few days ago and took it out today to fly and with all powered on getting no feed to the monitor...
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Re-checked all the connections and still not getting picture for some reason. Here's what it looks like with everything powered up![​IMG]
     
  6. harryb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have an iOSD of any kind? If you do, then the issue is between that and the Tx. Open her up and check all the connections.

    However, judging by the fact you aren't getting static, it is picking up a signal, but the GoPro isn't sending one out. Try switching the H3-3D USB ribbon cable that plugs into the GoPro for the spare. It may have become damaged in transit.
     
  7. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    @harryb, Brother you nailed it right on the head! Went to inspect the ribbon cable and sure enough there was a nice slit! Good thing there was an replacement in the box! [​IMG]
     
  8. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  9. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    That's scrolling - not running. Try moving the receiver a few feet from the transmitter.
     
  10. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    And make sure gopro and monitor are both set to NTSC.
     
  11. harryb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    As the other posters have said, check both the Black Pearl and GoPro are set to either PAL or NTSC (NTSC seems preferable), and double check the channels on the Black Pearl haven't changed (when both camera and receiver are on NTSC, flick through the channels until you get a stable image.

    Make sure you stand the the Black Pearl a few feet away from the transmitter though :) Worth just double checking all the antennas are nice and tight too.
     
  12. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    @damon @harryb, Guys seriously, I can't thank you guys enough!! I had my Gopro3 set on NTSC and my Monitor on PAL. As soon as I placed the monitor on NTSC the video feed became stable. I really appreciate all the effort from you Guys getting me back on track!! Thanks again
     
  13. JDN

    JDN

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had the same problem one time....rolling video image on the BP. Somehow, the BP had gotten switched to PAL, instead of NTSC. Once I found that and switched it back to NTSC like the GoPro...all was good again! ;)