Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Balancing the P4 props

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by WWK888, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. WWK888

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    206
    With the new style props, how is everyone going to balance them? Can you still use the same shaft as the P3 prop balancer?
     
  2. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    It look as though there is a little hole that you may be able to fit a rod into...maybe not the 6mm though.
     
  3. Milehighdesign

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    85
    I am going to try to 3d print a adaptor for the P4 prop to the balancer's rod. I had to do the same thing for the P3. This will be slightly more involved on the design side I am sure.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,233
    Likes Received:
    7,351
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    GMTA ;)
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,233
    Likes Received:
    7,351
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    For those who have the Du-Bro 499 prop balancer, I found the props fit onto the end of the included prop balancing rod.
     
    Noble 1, Milehighdesign and WWK888 like this.
  6. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks @msinger. Have you noticed the P4 props to be a higher quality than the P3's?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,233
    Likes Received:
    7,351
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I won't have a chance to fly my Phantom for the first time until tomorrow. But, visually, they are very nice. And, due to the way they lock onto the motors, I don't think they will ever fly off mid-flight.
     
  8. BlueSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    I doubt if you will need to balance these DJI high quality props. I have the quick release ones on my Inspire and they are perfect every time. DJI has been making high quality props since the P2
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,233
    Likes Received:
    7,351
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I haven't tried to balance my P4 props yet, but about 50% of my P2 and P3 props were just a bit off balance.
     
  10. Phantom fool

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    42
    Does it help if the pilot is a little off balance too?
     
  11. Milehighdesign

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    85
    No need to balance the props. They are great straight out of the box. Just checked them all.
    They do fit right on the stock shaft of the Du-Bro.

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1458250027.600488.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1458250038.549283.jpg
     
    WWK888 and Santiego like this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Balancing props Forum Date
Balancing Props - Which do you do first- blade or hub? Pro/Adv Discussion Dec 30, 2016
Balancing Props Pro/Adv Discussion Sep 22, 2016
Laser Balancing Props & Camera Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 10, 2016
balancing new QR props!! Phantom 4 Discussion Apr 23, 2016
Balancing the hub as well as props Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 22, 2016