Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Are FPVLR stage 3 wires supposed to barely fit...length

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Mods' started by Gonefishing51077, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have completed my stage 3 install but the video and Tx connection wires that go to the back right corner are super super tight. In fact you couldn't tighten nut on the one end until the inside connection had been hooked up. I tried every way I could think of short of drilling holes in my phantom to make them fit looser or have more slack. Seems like an extra inch would have been perfect.
    In the photos of the bird side on FPVLR they have a big loop on the outside indicating they had plenty of slack. Not the ones I have.
     
  2. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    The wires that came with my kit were just too short. I looked around and found some that are very thin and a foot long. They worked out good as the pictures show in Dirks link. Those were the ones from the camera to the antennas. The other ones from the receiver to the small antenna worked but I cut a small hole in the side of the shell. That can also be seen in Dirks link to the pictures.
     
  3. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks guys.

    I wanted to be sure I wasn't missing a step on how this could be installed. Sometimes you study on something so long you can't see the simple answer. The "Trees for the Forest" syndrome. Lol

    Glad this forum is here. Lots of great info.

    Thanks again
     
  4. nelly

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville Tn
    I too had the same problem, had to purchase longer cables. I contacted Tony regarding my concern and he stated they run through the vent holes on the side or drill a hole. I chose not to drill a hole or run the wire through the vent. I wanted them to loop around through the legs and be a cleaner look.
     
  5. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    I looked my camera over and no vent holes on the side. Only on the front bottom of camera. When I had mine in that location they drove the RPG into a rattle fit. Moved to upper back of camera and all is well.
    Tony's cables are good because they have the correct connector on one end that fits the cable inside the camera. I had to make an adapter by soldering two circuit board type U.fl connectors back to back for the inside camera connection.
     
  6. nelly

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville Tn
    Not following what you mean by "camera" the phantom has vent holes in the sides (bottom half of shell) that the only way I could get the wires to fit and be long enough was to drill a hole in the shell or run through one of the vent slots. I chose not to do either and purchase longer cables
     
  7. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Ooooops! I was thinking about the FPV improvement and not the receiver. As pics show, I did a small notch in shell to get mine outside to the antennas. Now, with both eyes open, I see what he ment.
     
  8. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Ah! Now I have both eyes open and have them focused. We are in the + mod area and mine is the non +. Also I have the small holders for the sma connectors. Good idea on the expoy on those U.fl connectors.
    Looks good, Tony.
     
  9. max

    max

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey gonefishing, I just posted pics of my install in another thread: viewtopic.php?f=54&t=33027
    I put one of each frequency on each side, but had to drill a hole into the vents.
    Tony: where did you get that new plastic mounting piece? Are you selling those? Every time I order from you I see a new improved version of what I just got a few days later!
     
  10. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    FWIW, I prefer the original brackets you've been offering. Actually have another set coming my way.

    Since your laser cutting these, why not offer both?
     
  11. max

    max

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    I agree to offer both. Its great you are always improving, was just giving you a hard time. Does the new version get hit by the prop wash a lot? Any extra noise or other consequences?
     
  12. max

    max

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    Good point thanks for the quick reply. While I have your attention... Can you post a pic of how you normally position the horizontal antennas? I could be imagining things, but the phantom sounds noticeably louder with the prop wash going through the cloverleafs. I repositioned them to be closer to the body/more under the arm and I think it sounds a little better, but I worry about signal attenuation from any metal or the motors.
     
  13. dspallasVI

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking good Tony, look forward to trying the bird out when it arrives 'home' ;-)
     
  14. max

    max

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ahhhh. I actually almost asked you once what exactly the idea of the one vertical and one horizontal antenna. Question then: if I am trying get absolute max lateral distance, say at 500 ft altitude, then would replacing the horizontal antennas with two more vertical antennas help any? Would flying with only one each of the vertical antennas (to save weight) hurt any in term to long range?