Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Alternative way to secure the gopro?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by stevendavisphoto, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. stevendavisphoto

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's really frustrating to have to unscrew the strap securing the gopro every time. Have you guys switched it out at all? I was thinking a twist tie or a few rubber bands.
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  3. Shartzilla

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple of rubber bands works just fine.
     
  4. stevendavisphoto

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    indeed. no way i'm paying for anything. i'd use at least 2 bands, probably double looped, just in case 1 snaps during flight for some reason.
     
  5. Away Point

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    x3 on rubber bands.

    Been using several hair ponytail small black rubber bands. They are small, light, inexpensive, and go on and off easily.

    4 or 5 over the camera provides redundancy, plus a couple more on the back to lock the front bands on the gimbal frame.
     
  6. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
  7. Away Point

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. Kelso Kubat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, CO
    does that throw off the balance at by taking it off?
     
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    So I bought this and was really disappointed when it arrived and tried it (I have the H3-3D gimbal). The brackets on top and bottom collide with the gimbal when articulating the mount up and down. It prevents the gopro from pointing all the way down. Had to ditch it.
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Thanks for the feedback Damon, and I just saw your feedback on the shapeways page. I actually just got the notice a minute ago that mine has now shipped, so I'll have it in a few days to see if it gives me the same hassle and if so I'll get pics to show the problem.
     
  11. Peter Evans

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lot-et-Garonne, France
    You were pushing it on too far!! There are raised points on the end of the upper and lower clips that slip into the screw holes on the gimbal. When it's fitted correctly like that, the front piece of the bracket sits very close to the lens. Pushing the clips past that point takes the bracket over to cover the GoPro LEDs and then you'll get the issue you're complaining of.

    (Back on the forum temporarily after a short break :) )
     
  12. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I didn't push it on too far. The gimbal is actually what makes contact with the piece, no matter how I put it on.
     
  13. Peter Evans

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lot-et-Garonne, France
    OK, well in that case I guess that either your H3-3D or your Shapeways bracket was manufactured in a different way from mine because with mine, when the nubs on the extreme ends of the Shapeways bracket are clipped into the screw holes on the gimbal it is impossible for the bracket to make contact with the gimbal :?