Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Airplane mode/Wifi/Cellular on or off during flight? (POLL)

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by antdon, Jul 31, 2015.

?
  1. YES, I DO ENABLE AIRPLANE MODE BEFORE FLYING

  2. NO, I DO NOT ENABLE AIRPLANE MODE BEFORE FLYING

  3. I DISABLE CELLULAR SERVICE BEFORE FLYING

  4. I DISABLE WIFI BEFORE FLYING

  5. I LEAVE EVERYTHING AS IS AND JUST FLY! (Cell on, Wifi on, etc)

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. antdon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    For those of us who use our actual cell phones (or tablets with cellular service) as an FPV device.

    There have also been threads brought up about this but it seems like we don't have a solid answer.

    I know the official DJI documents don't mention this anywhere.

    Do you enable airplane mode?

    Do you disable only Wifi?

    Do you disable only cellular signal?

    If you do enable/disable any of these features during flight is it from fear of interference and/or to avoid the PilotApp from crashing, distractions (calls, messages, popups), etc?

    Have you experienced any interference while flying with Wifi/Cell signal turn on, on your device?

    Please choose an answer from the poll and explain.

    Thanks,

    Tony
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,974
    Likes Received:
    5,584
    Location:
    US
    I fly in airplane mode since I do not need Wi-Fi or cell service when flying. I want my iPad Mini 2 to run as efficiently as possible.
     
  3. antdon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree.. I honestly didn't even think about enabling Airplane mode until I came across a site today mentioning this. I use my Samsung Galaxy Note 4 most of the time and almost EVERY time I fly, my app has crashed on me. Thankfully my Drone is always in site so I'd simply restart the app and continue my flight.

    I had purchased an older iPad mini only to find out the app doesn't run on the older version (I was actually surprised and pissed at the same time), so now I'll be purchasing another tablet which ill be using solely for the drone.
     
  4. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I fly in aircraft mode to stop some idiot phoning me.
    I do wonder though what google maps they won't work.
     
  5. vmp

    vmp

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    22
    I fly in airplane mode because I have experience signal degradation when the iPad is not in airplane mode.
     
  6. Options

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've never gone into airplane mode. I have only once turned off WiFi. However, I don't fly where I am connected to WiFi generally.
     
    acherman and bobmyers like this.
  7. Steeleagle

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Never use airplane mode on my IPhone 6. No signal issues- have had it out over 2 miles.
     
    Buckaye and acherman like this.
  8. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    I've been flying with my cell in my pocket tethered to the iPad over wifi. Just got back from flying my first mile distance!
     
  9. Grimfever

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    I too have note 4 and just turn off the WiFi but if the maps still work in airplane mode, I'll do that. Got called yesterday during a flight.....annoying however my app has yet to crash on me
     
  10. pedrombracho

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    I don't like to fly in airplane mode, because you loose the gps, and cannot assign the home point to the radio. I like to assign the home point to were I am, not from the take of. Just turn off WiFi and notification and you're good to go
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  11. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    I'm a newby, however have been using my note 4 on flight mode.

    Have had the app crash several times and dont know what to do to fix the crashes?

    Anyone know what I can do?

    I'm thinking of using my Note 10.1 from now on but can I?
     
  12. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    I fly the Nexus 7 II with Wifi on, Linked to my work phones Droid Hotspot for maps and stuff no problems.
    Hey It's free! :)
     
    eseckinger likes this.
  13. Grimfever

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    s same here newbie flyer with a note 4 and aside from my phone running hot, it doesn't crash and I've ran my battery to like 8%! Only thing I can say is make sure all your apps are closed before starting the pilot app. Don't know if I'm just lucky but it's always worked for me .
     
  14. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Thanks bud will try tomorrow by clearing RAM before I open DJI Pilot app
     
  15. Alex_

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Never had issues leaving wifi or 4g on with my iPad Air.
     
  16. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    It causes more heat build up from the processors and if the ipad gets over 95 degrees F you may start to experience signal loss, screen flickering and total disconnects from the app.from the
     
  17. hoosierdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    17
    Why do you talk to idiots so often, and do they know how you feel? :)

     
  18. antdon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe all you have to do is view the area on the map (within the app) you will be flying (maybe at home, connected to wifi) and your device will cache the maps/area you zoomed in on. It'll be saved so when you get to the spot you will be flying it already has it cached on the device from you viewing it earlier. There really won't be any need for cell phone service IMO especially on the P3.
     
  19. antdon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Really? It uses the FPV device to lock in a home point?

    Can someone else confirm this please? If so, I just learned something new :)
     
  20. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Only when setting the Home Point to the RC. No GPS in the P3 RC, so it uses the tablet itself for GPS. You can either use a cellular tablet or a Bluetooth connected external GPS like the Bad Elf Pro or Pro+ with a noncellular WiFi only tablet.