Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Aircraft upgrade required

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dysan911, May 6, 2015.

  1. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    So I got my P3A. I successfully updated the RC and thought the firmware upgrade on the Phantom itself was completed. I got the D..DD beeps and when I checked the .txt files. All of them showed success.

    First time connecting and activating using the DJI Pilot app. There's an Overall Status box that says "Aircraft upgrade required". Anyone know what I need to do here?

    Thanks!
     
    Emre likes this.
  2. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ahh shoot never mind. Apparently I just needed to exit and restart the App / Reconnect. Its now showing NORMAL
     
  3. artsribanpot

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    West Hartford,Connecticut, USA
    You may have to redo it again. I updated the air craft first, took over 15 minutes, then remote control by using a cable. Everything went fine, P3P flew good very stable almost as good as Inspire 1.
     
  4. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    wtf am i doing wrong gett the d dd when i switch on flashing yellow lights and no txt
     
  5. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    do you have the extracted update in the root directory of the sd card? Remember to unzip (extract) it first.
     
  6. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    yip

    i dropped the .bin file and the extracted folder to the root directory
     
  7. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
     
  8. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    this is getting ridiculous , does the bin file need renaming?

    started up again, got d --dd then blinking yellow lights no dddd
     
  9. GAP308

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    17
    I would start from scratch. I would also leave the SD card in the P3P for at least 30 minutes. I left mine in for over an hour so longer wont hurt anything. When you pull the SD card out and check it on your PC or mac you should see an extra file that was created. Do this and get back with me I will hang out and see if I can help.

    There is no need to re name anything. If you want to try to put the firmware on a thumb drive and update the radio first to see if that's successful I don't think that will hurt anything. It at least has a blue light to let you know its updating and a green light that lets you know its completed the upgrade.
     
  10. GAP308

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    17
    I mean what else am I going to do while I wait on "1" battery to charge. :rolleyes:
     
    Julius717 likes this.
  11. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    thanks mate, i am starting from scratch each time, i delete the file from the sd card and download and then extract and then copy the file into card

    the support from dji is pathetic as in zip
     
  12. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    lol indeed , I'm in south africa and there are zip spare batteries here yet
     
  13. candubob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    21
    I had the same problem until I left the SD card that I used to upgrade firmware in the bird ALL THE TIME. I think DJI put some type of hidden file on the system that it is look for update information.
    I will try it again when I get home tonite to try to swap in a new SD card and see what happens.
     
  14. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    well I just did a flight and got the message saying upgrade required, so I killed my battery down to 15% like a dummy lol.

    I downloaded the file onto my sd that came with the BIRD and did the REMOTE update no problem only took a couple minutes not the 10 they say. now im waiting patiently for my one and only battery to charge haha
     
  15. SKYMAKER_Films

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just unzipped the firmware update and dragged the "Phantom_3_Professional_Firmware_v1.1.6_en" folder to the SD Card (exfat formatted). Then when I put it in the P3 I get DDDD. I waited an hour while the fast blinking yellow LEDS went off and shut down the bird to check if it was done only to find that there was to text file created. I didn't hear and beep confirmation of completion, but I dosed off a bit waiting so I thought it might have finished up. Any ideas on what I did wrong? Should I have waited more than an hour? Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  16. vinnnocc

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    USA, CT
    sorry to bump but the sd card you use to update do u have to leave in at all times?

    also if so do you have to leave that fine on it?

    I'm very lost on the up date part
     
  17. SKYMAKER_Films

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried again with the .bin file at the root, and it works.
     
    J.James likes this.
  18. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    Just the bird. Worked like a champ. Only took about 12 minutes. Woohoo
     
  19. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
  20. The Risk

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for the help all, sorted, got a clean sd card and loaded it from my mac took 10 min , works like a bomb , now all we need is waypoints