Advice on generic batteries

Reaction score
I'm a Phantom newbie (have some time on a Syma), flown a handful of times on my P3A with the brand name battery. I purchased a battery on ebay a couple weeks ago and when it arrived I realized it was generic, a 'Gifi Power' battery to be exact. I didn't know that generic Phantom batteries were available so I hadn't thought to check. It doesn't seem to do anything strange when charging or while updating in the drone but I haven't tested it in flight yet. I'm tempted to return it but am not looking forward to the hassle of shipping it back to China. Anyone have experience with this particular manufacturer? Or just generic batteries in particular?

I can't verify this but I've heard Dji will void the warranty if not OEM batteries.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

In general, it's not a good idea to use generic batteries. Here's why:
  • DJI does not support them and will not honor your warranty if your Phantom crashes while using one
  • They have not been widely tested, so there is no telling how they will perform
  • The small cost savings is not worth the cost of replacing a crashed Phantom
P3 batteries can be purchased at a reduced price from many sellers. For example, you can get them here on Amazon for $124.

Last edited:
I don't believe the warranty is an issue for me since I bought this used. And I definitely wouldn't have bought this if I'd known it was generic but now that I have it I'm just wondering what others experiences have been with generic batteries.

I don't believe the warranty is an issue for me since I bought this used. And I definitely wouldn't have bought this if I'd known it was generic but now that I have it I'm just wondering what others experiences have been with generic batteries.
The general consensus (after reading a number of tales of woe and destruction) is to avoid them. Return the **** thing and get a real DJI battery.