A few thoughts on LIPO charging and the Phantom in general

Reaction score
I am fairly new to LIPOs so I was reading a few web sites on the subject and came across this site. Check out the videos of the LIPO fires. Especially watch video #2. I am suddenly looking into a some cinder block bunker for charging...

http://www.crashtesthobby.com/batteries--chargers.html

I have come to realize that flying an RC around isn't about just flying an RC around. I spend more time prepping, soldering, and modifying things on my Phantom than I do flying. Now I have to build a LIPO bunker so that my hobby does not burn down my house

The sad thing is that I have already out grown my Phantom. I have an F550 kit on the way.

Re: A few thoughts on LIPO charging and the Phantom in gener

The sad thing is that I have already out grown my Phantom. I have an F550 kit on the way.

That means bigger batteries. Better reinforce the bunker. ;)

I had a 3.7v Lipo for a micro heli catch fire, and it was ablaze instantly. Luckily, I had a bottle of water right there,
and dumped the battery inside, before it burned me. It was bubbling away in the water bottle for quite some time.
And that was just a tiny little sucker, a little over an inch long.

Just got fire extinguishers. Lipos are going to the outside storage.

9u5y6ubu.jpg

I got this ammo box last week, $30 delivered. I've still got some work to do on it. I'm going to divide it up with six individual battery compartments, run a main power and balance lead into each compartment and back to a parallel charging board running from an Imax B6 charger. I'm hoping to mount the charger so I can access it with the box closed. I bought the DC version of the ImaxB6 so I can run it off a car battery while in the field but I've also bought the AC adaptor for when using it with mains power available.

veragudy.jpg