Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

5.8GHz Skyzone and Vision Plus

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by gfo315, Feb 23, 2015.

  1. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    As I'm quite newby in the FPV subject, I still don't know how to properly install FPV in my Vision Plus.

    Some guys that helped me in this forum showed the Skyzone goggles, which are said to be better than the FatShark Predator V2. Even though I can't feel both of them, they look pretty nice.
    But the thing is that Vision Plus uses both 2.4 and 5.8GHz. Will this interfere with the goggles, even though it's 5.8 and up to 32 channels? This way I would avoid removing the whole Wifi system to free the 2.4 frequency.

    If everything is okay, I would use this setup:

    - Skyzone goggles: http://www.getfpv.com/skyzone-fpv-goggl ... rsity.html
    - 5.8GHz TX: http://www.getfpv.com/5-8ghz-32ch-a-v-6 ... ts832.html
    - iOSD Mini for telemetry: http://www.dji.com/product/iosd-mini
    - Cable to connect iOSD (I still don't know where and which one to buy)

    Is this correct?
    Thanks guys!
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Are you sure you have phantom 2vision +?? If so why are you looking at equipment for FPV (first person view)?? If indeed it is a vision plus all you really need is a cell phone, phantom app and wifi extender.
     
  3. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    I know.. After getting the Vision Plus, I realized how FPV goggles would be better (just like your setup). WiFi gets laggy when over 100m and it's not immersive at all. Trying to run after real FPV now.
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Look what you would like to do isn't possible using a vision plus TX as it is using 5.8Ghz and all FPV equipment uses that same freq. If you still want FPV then you'll the phantom 2 V2 TX which works on a freq of 2.4Ghz then TX/RX, iOSD, monitors and or goggles will work because, you guessed it, they all work on a 5.8Ghz frequencies.
     
  5. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Thought the fact that it has 32 channels would pass through the interference issue. Doesn't it?
    If so, the only way I can use FPV equipment is removing the WiFi which is 2.4 and putting FPV TX/RX in this frequency.
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I do think you understand what i'm tring to tell you so lets start over. When bought the phantom 2 vision plus did it come with a gimbal and camera all ready mounted and ready to go? Or did it come with a gimbal that you had to mount to the quadcopter and without a camera?
     
  7. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    lol dude it IS vision plus v2 with Gimbal, WiFi, Range Extender and all that stuff. But I was thinking about the possibility to add goggles instead of video in cellphone because of lag and flight immersion. get me?
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Well hopefully you now know that you cannot do it because the frequencies are the same between the vision plus and FPV equipment. Have fun and welcome to the forums.
     
  9. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    there IS kind of a way now, although not exactly what he thought. There are now several different brands of goggles for the tablet itself... so indeed it's not like in the 5.8ghz transmit world where the goggles would directly receive a 5.8Ghz signal, but instead people with a Vision series P2 using a tablet/phone can just get tablet/phone glasses which show everything on the tablet in the goggles including the Vision app.

    These are the serious, expensive ones ($700): http://www.amazon.com/Cinemizer-1909-12 ... B0091OI530

    and there are plenty of cheap chinese knock-offs in the $100 range, for example:
    http://china-topsky.en.alibaba.com/prod ... asses.html


    Those of us with non-Vision P2's using a FPV screen like the BP or RX-LCD5802 could also theoretically get generic goggles and use the RCA video out from the screen to plug in goggles, like these
    http://www.amazon.com/Portable-Eyewear- ... B0080UVHJU
     
  10. gfo315

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    There's actually one goggle which isn't as cheap as $100 and as expensive as $700 and mirrors device's screen with good quality: FatShark Dominator V2 (~$400)

    These do have HDMI input and CloudsNeverDie said they offer quite nice flight experience with iPhone's HDMI mirroring. Definitely a option.
     
  11. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    neat! thanks