What's the difference between the FC40 and a Phantom 1?

Reaction score
I get the impression there is no difference and the FC40 is a P1 with a camera. :?

Welcome to the list Papi.

I hear some vendors are selling P1 using 5.8 ghz, what have you heard Papi?

HailStorm said:
Welcome to the list Papi.

I hear some vendors are selling P1 using 5.8 ghz, what have you heard Papi?

;) Yea, I wasn't gonna go there with Popi.

Ok, lets set things straight.

I have a Phantom FC40, have read lots of stuff about it and really can't find the difference between the current version of the Phantom 1 and what I have. Minus the cute little camera which is collecting dust now that I have a gimbal and a GoPro.

Don't get me wrong, I think the FC40 camera is super cool, especially when I am flying at 8,000 ft Msl and need to reduce my gross weight to increase my flight time.

But seriously, what's the difference? :roll:

I think the crappy camera and the radio frequency, otherwise pretty much the same bird as far as I know.

the Phantom 1 uses 2.4 ghz radio ,the FC40 uses a 5.8 ghz. there are a few other differences but that is the big thing.
the camera uses 2.4 ghz to transmit .the FC40 uses the same radio as the Vision (5.8)
the batteries are the same between the Phantom 1 and FC40. cheap! a great mod is using a Multistar 4000 s3 battery.

Wayne

I think the FC40 also has the spring centered throttle stick where the P1 doesn't. Or at least the older versions do I think. Not 100% sure about that though, just something I noticed on a few P1 flight videos.

Thanks folks,

Yep, I think you're correct. 2.4 vs 5.8, the camera, and I don't know about the control stick.
I have noticed some pics showing 2 circuit boards in the P1 and my FC40 has only one. It looks like they moved the transmitter onto the main board.

Wayne, you're right on with the multistar 4000. I've got 4 and they beat the daylights out of any others I have used. :D

;)