Weird Incident

Reaction score
Hi all, new here, and new and first time drone owner. I'm a filmmaker and purchased one to expand my production. As i'm still learning the ins and outs of flying these things I had a strange and potentially disastrous experience. Upon flying it without my gopro attached I flew under a telephone wire not too close, I heard a loud spark sound and my phantom shutoff and fell from the sky into a bush. Fortunately it still works with no apparent problems. My question is what exactly happened, and is there any precautions I need to take moving forward (obviously not flying under wires again) but in calibrating or recalibrating?

~Thanks

No clue, but the telephone wire would not have any effect on the Phantom.
BTW - Welcome to the forum. If you post your location in your profile you may discover neighbors with Phantoms.

Are you sure it wasn't a power wire rather than a telephone wire? It states in the manual not o fly too close to power wires cause of interference and such. That could have been the problem but if not, who knows...I would avoid that place from now on either way

dtitus6297 said:
Are you sure it wasn't a power wire rather than a telephone wire? It states in the manual not o fly too close to power wires cause of interference and such. That could have been the problem but if not, who knows...I would avoid that place from now on either way
The manual is wrong. Power lines will not cause interference. There's plenty of people with YouTube videos flying over, under and between high voltage power lines without issue.

I have flown over a few, I still would not get to close because high power electric causing interference is a known fact. Just because it doesn't happen once or ten times doesn't mean it is impossible or the manual is wrong

dtitus6297 said: