Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waypoints without making turns

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by maxmustermann282, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. maxmustermann282

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    is it possible to let the DJI Phantom 2 or an Evo S800 with A2
    fly towards waypoints on the groundstation autonomously by approaching the waypoints without making any turns?

    I think this would be refered to as an Course Lock mode in the IOC Funktion.

    I want this because the additonal turns the Datalink software does so far seems to add inaccuracy when approaching a waypoint.


    Sample Picture on Page 34, 3rd row "CL":

    http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... .18_en.pdf
     
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Unfortunately - the way GS works is that the Phantom eventually has to turn towards the waypoint and fly head on to it. We would all love to get a feature where you can set the camera focus point and have the Phantom 2 fly with a fixed camera point - but that's not the way it currently works for automated flight.
     
  3. Suwaneeguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    22
    In the app, you have four choices.
    One of those is "none".
    Try it and see if that's what you want.
     
  4. maxmustermann282

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    grr i dont have any apple devices, only android.

    Question: are the Groundstation 2.4 Ghz Ipad Datalink that are sold the very same as the PC version?
    Apparently they are both the same devices, you just download another software for your pc / ipad, correct?
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct, same Data Link hardware, you can connect to it with iPad (via BTU) or PC (via USB).
     
  6. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando

    LOL well can't fix taste :) :lol:

    JK - good luck with the PC hook up - let us know how it goes.
     
  7. birdheezy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm interested in adding the ipad ground station capability to my vision 2 plus and was wondering the same thing. I'd love to have a single focal point (say a baseball field) and then program way points so the camera is pointed at a focal point the entire time.

    Is it hard to add the ipad ground station (bluthooth datalink) so the V2+?
     
  8. RIDETOEAT

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison Indiana
    Do some searching, there was a thread about it a few days ago...
     
  9. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    You could use one of the templates on GS, position it over your point of interest then set each waypoint to 'stop and turn', you can then set the heading of the Phantom at each point to face your point of interest for however long you desire. It's not ideal but it's about the closest you will get at the moment.
     
  10. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    The ability to not be able to look at a target is annoying, I posted about this a while back and did a mock up of how it could be done with the interface, of course programming it prob isnt trivial..
     
  11. BIGBEAR29

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think if you could lock the camera on to a object things would be less complicated when conducting single person operation.