Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

WANTED : Longer distance..

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Mityone, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. Mityone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    HELP, I am losing signal at a very short distance and video is choppy sometimes.. I see other posts where people are talking about 2 different mods... What are the Pros and Cons on them and how hard are they to install?.. Any feedback would be appreciated..


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    How short is your distance?exactly ?
    What mobile/tablet device you use?
     
  3. rdzbarger

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    I upgraded using the Argtek and so far am happy with it . It took less than a week to get it when ordering on eBay from the states and wasn't that bad to install. It took me about 20-30 minutes to install it . I am not endorsing any certain modification but just responding to your comment with what helped me . It may not help you at all .


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  4. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    What kind of improvement did yousee? And in what kind of environment?
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  5. Mityone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Angry,
    I start to notice signal loss at about 800 meters and there are no obstructions or any electrical power lines..
     
  6. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    Is it a residential neighborhood?
     
  7. Mityone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    No it's not residential.. I have flown it at least 10 times in the last week and the same thing. Luckily it returned home. That is why I am asking about MODS...
     
  8. jttt777

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    are you sure you are properly aiming the antennas and the controller. i think this is more important that many might assume
     
    jointeffort and Bob8619 like this.
  9. Mityone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    JT, I can honestly say I am not sure if I am pointing them at the Craft.. But, I will definitely give that try next time I can get up in the air.. I know that the specs say that 1000 meters is the max distance it will go... But, I would really like to take it out farther and not lose it... I would like to install one of the mods I keep reading about... What are your thoughts on them and how easy are they to install?
     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    There not hard and are posted in several threads how to do them Mity .
    Lots are like you and lots are getting over a mile with no issues stock .
    I am seeing a lot of this posted
    image.jpeg Connecters not on correctly . Check them . Ya never know
    As far as the mods ..how much ya want to spend ...how far ya want to go .
    I see 2 under 100 bucks that I haven't been impressed with the results posted so far.
    Then you have the DBS panel and the FPVLR set-up .
    The install in the TX is pretty much the same on all of them .
     
    GodFear17 and jointeffort like this.
  11. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas
    Dirkclod your like a heat seeking hammer always nailing it :)


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  12. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    366
    I disagree with Dirk. The DBS panel mod is very high quality and amazing for the price. You'll notice an immediate change in range and signal.

    For a $100 I was impressed. I also left my stock antenna wires to return to stock if anything happened. Since then I've ripped them out because I'm never going back.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Harrissment

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Stephen I think dirk is saying the dbsmod panel and fpvlr are the best ones to get!
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  14. Hughyg

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    What's bad? I struggle to get past 140m at my farm. I contacted DJi and they said just reset remote and reconnect. Have noticed it to get much better. Thinking of trying to return it or will I see an improvement with the DBS type mod?



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Nabzo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    get the ARGtek mod or make or buy a windsuffer then you sorted after that

    argtek cost between $55-80
    windsuffer cost between $6-12

    you can check the forum many guys are using it and you can see there is only positive feedback .
     
  16. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I was but wasn't going to leave out the other 2 that are being tried right now . I didn't mean to sound like they are no good but just from what I have seen posted They haven't impressed me . I have tried all the stuff with my other before I did hit my sweet spot and that is the DBS and FPVLR
    on the bird .Am redoing Mia the same way now and have moved the extender to the back so I can use the same bracket like on Dixie
    Looks like this IMG_2351.JPG ..I would check that cable first like in that picture .
    And do try a windsuffer like Nabzo suggested as I was writing this .
    I have used them way back when we started making them from Coke cans and even used the one their making now on Dixie
    just to see what I would get before I did mod mine .
    What works in one place might not work well in another . It didn't do nothing but waste my time Where I am at .
     
  17. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    366
    Yeah I'm see that now


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app