Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Waiting for the new firmware.......

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by The Editor, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    It does seem to be taking DJI an inordinate amount of time to fix what should be a relatively easy bug to rectify (namely the limits distance feature not working properly).

    I wonder if the delay is due to the fact that they are racking their brains to think of a new 'feature' they can introduce as an excuse for releasing a new version firmware and thus disguising the fact that it is a bug fix?

    Just a thought..... :roll:
     
  2. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's another of those problems which has to make you wonder if it's pilot error/disorientation/failure to read instructions. Don't you find it weird that DJI would release a function which simply doesn't work at all, ever, and also that only a few people actually have an issue with it...?
     
  3. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry, it's not a few people.... it's a LOT ! It has happened to me. I have 15 years experience in flying RC CP helicopters and know all about orientation ! :lol:

    It's a bug that can be demonstrated and repeatable and has been documented by many via YouTube etc...

    Take a look here (Go to 8:03 and watch when he flies straight) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_p306vyA8Q&list=PLAC1533A16F26F9F0&index=88

    Or here ---> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3icOejm62k
    The last one is Richard who is a beta tester for DJI for the Zenmuse and also runs the UK Phantom User Forums!

    Believe me this is not user error - It's a DJI firmware bug !
     
  4. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    The Version 4.0 is not even available for download any longer.
     
  5. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes it is... I'm looking at it !! http://www.dji.com/download/phantom-downloads/
     
  6. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    When I click on your link I can see the 4.0 firmware but the link is removed. Maybe it is still available where you are but in the states there is no link to click on.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    FFS, look at the picture you posted and READ IT.

    See the bit under the Naza assistant 2.18? See where it says "Download the firmware via assistant software"? Well, that's what you have to do. DJI have never put links up directly to the firmware. It's always been downloaded and updated via the assistant software.
     
  8. martcerv

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lol that is too funny.

    There is a bug clearly in the radius setting but other then that the firmware works great, the altitude limit is working fine though the same bug may be evident if in a thermal but highly unlikely and very hard to test for.

    Simple options people have are to either update and keep limits at default where you will not be reaching them and if you do at 2000m then you would surely be able to also get it back even with the bug if you intend to fly to those lengths youd want to be able to use rth or manual mode. The other option you can have is not update as its not needed, the old if it aint broke dont fix it applies here.

    If things are going fine as they are just keep it that way, if you want to try the new firmware at least the good thing is you are aware of this possible bug as others have identified it. Its not hard to avoid so it really isnt a big issue if you simply dont use that feature.

    If you cant find the download link and post a pic showing you exactly how to do so here then thats just priceless :lol: :lol:
     
  9. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    I could swear that I downloaded V 3.16 from clicking on link. Thanks for correcting me.