travel case or backpack for wider/exteded legs???

I'm just preparing to add the wider taller slightly curved legs to one of my Phantoms. I have a Go Professional case and I just purchased a TradeCraft - ToughCase X2. I figured worst case, if the new legs don't fit, I can cut out some of the foam to make it fit.

These are the legs that I purchased and plan to install.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IGR ... UTF8&psc=1

The aftermarket tall landing gear will cause more problems then they're worth. 1- they're brittle 2- they don't have the proper compass mounting area. Learn to hand catch. And if you're seeing the gear in the shot, you're gimbal is not setup correctly. I've been shooting for 4 months with the P2 I've never had gear or props in the shot.

AerialCinemaGuy said:
The aftermarket tall landing gear will cause more problems then they're worth. 1- they're brittle 2- they don't have the proper compass mounting area. Learn to hand catch. And if you're seeing the gear in the shot, you're gimbal is not setup correctly. I've been shooting for 4 months with the P2 I've never had gear or props in the shot.

Thanks for the heads up Jeff. Since I only gave about $8 for the new legs, I'm not out that much. Too bad. I was going to mount the compass in the exact same place & distance from the bottom of the Phantom but it sounds like you have a real life experience which is valuable. I looked at the new legs and I thought they were made of the exact same material as the original one were but I guess not.

Incidentally I don't like the foam in the Tradecraft case nearly as much as the first Go Professional one. I wish now I would have paid the extra money and purchased another Go Professional case. The Tradecraft case itself seems to be as good as the Go Professional.

AerialCinemaGuy said: