Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Tired of looking for MicroSD slot

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rrmccabe, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Yea I am slow. You would think I would figure it out.

    But decided this would be a quick fix. I think the UAV sticker guy should add it to his set.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I considered an extension lead for it, which would also help that issue - but mainly I was worried about what might eventually happen to the socket from putting it in and out after most flights.

    Only where to stick it?
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SD-to-MicroSD ... 1402994954
     
  3. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Excellent idea! I'm gonna do that to mine this afternoon! Thanks for sharing the idea.
     
  4. harbourside

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why not just use the mini usb socket on the gimbal and save all that fiddling about with the card ?
     
  5. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Because it's a lot easier to carry the card around than the entire Phantom!
     
  6. harbourside

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    But at least you won't loose it :)
     
  7. cruz_ctrl

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nayarit, Mexico
    well, you have to power up the phantom which means you have to remove the gimbal lock (and make sure you have enough space next to the computer to accomodate the copter which is an issue in my case ;))

    a lot simpler to just pop out the card...

    as for looking for the slot, hoo-boy :roll:
     
  8. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Because in my situation its easier to take the SD card to the computer than drag the phantom into the house and I don't have to have the phantom powered to do it. That and the transfer rate is faster on the SD card. I have a dozen Micro SDs for various things. Pop one out and insert new one at same time.
     
  9. Elwood58

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County CA and Sun City West AZ
    Does your MicroSD Slot move around on you? :). Right side of the Gimbal when facing the front of the Phantom. Sticker looks cool though.