Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Tilt control: upgrade needed in Phantom?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by BrunoBL, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. BrunoBL

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I searched the forum but didn't find anything directly related. Please excuse me if this has already been covered.

    I'm planning to purchase a Phantom (not the 2/Vision) and a third-party brushless gimbal (not Zenmuse). Assuming I get the tilt knob kit for the transmitter, will I still need to upgrade the Naza and/or mainboard for the tilt function to work? Are newer Phantoms not delivered with more recent Naza units that circumvent the need to upgrade?

    On a related note, do all third-party brushless gimbals allow for tilting or should I look for specific brands/models? i.e, are there budget gimbals that won't tilt at all that I should avoid if I need tilting?

    Thanks,
    Bruno
     
  2. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Bruno,
    On reg Phantom in assistant software the gimbal function just needs to be activated for tilt.

    And most 2 axis gimbals allow for tilt function
     
  3. Roadkilt

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    4
    You will need to install a tilt lever in the back of the transmitter, or pull out the tiny potentiometer in the transmitter and wire in one to the case, there's YouTube vids to help on this. I'm no electro geek so I bought a tilt lever off ebay and tried it. Didn't work at all. So I followed the YouTube directions, awkwardly but managed to solder in a nice control on the front of my tx which gives me full tilt control; level, slight tilt below props, 45 degrees or straight down. Pretty sweet.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think he is asking if the main be comes pre upgraded or if he needs to install the upgrade board in order to get the zenmuse h3-2d to work on an original phantom. I don't own a zenmuse so I can't say for sure, but I think you'll still need to buy and install the board post-purchase.
     
  5. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ah, yeah. I missed that!

    It's what I get for speed reading the thread lol
     
  6. Radikaltech

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia Venezuela and FL USA
    Hi, I Have a Phantom Vision, I removed the original camera and placed a Zenmuse H3-2D, on tha mainboard it has a connector that says "zemnuse", I suppose it doesnt need the GCU as the connector goes straight from the gimbal to the mainboard. Everything looks fine, gimbal is stabilized. But Tilt Control does not work at all... Has anybody done this upgrade before?
     
  7. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA

    I can only hope the Phantom 2 will have the option of tilt.
     
  8. dyarza

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Phantom 2 should have the option to tilt. On the Vision, it is disabled in software, with the X1 channel not available in the Assistant Software.

    As for the board, there should be no need to upgrade and will have a Zenmuse port directly on it.