Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strong Interference Detected: Risky?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Goldsaum82, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. Goldsaum82

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    57
    We've all seen the warning at some point. My question, what happens if this warning causes loss of contact? I would assume that the RTH would kick in, but wonder if the "strong interference" would alter its course and/or cause a fly away.

    Have any of you experienced this first hand to the point where the interference caused a loss of contact? If so, what happened?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,689
    Likes Received:
    3,421
    I've had to fly at a couple of places in urban environments where I got that warning at the start because of things close to the home point.
    But when I flew away up into clean air the warning goes away.
    Interference may make your screen video break up a little or cause pauses in the controls but it's never going to make your Phantom fly away or affect flight.
    If you lose signal completely RTH would initiate but you are more likely to just have glitchy control and video while the warning is present.
     
  3. Alphonse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've had it cause loss of contact yesterday. Fortunately, RTH kicked in and saved my butt.
    Also, I have NEVER flown from ANYWHERE without the message continually flashing on my screen (and distracting the poop out of me). I must have a problem with my kit (that I should have checked out before something drastic happens).
    By the way, yesterday was the first time it ever caused a loss of contact.
     
  4. Frank Pliska III

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1

    Wondering what RF band the Strong Interference error is for? 2.4 or 5.7?
     
  5. Goldsaum82

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    57
    I typically only get this warning when flying my P3 4K in congested areas. I don't ever see it with my P3A. That said, it's almost certainly related to the Wifi interference that is seen in dense urban areas.
     
  6. Robert Smith jr

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    21
    I wish DJI would move the warning to an icon at the top of the status bar instead of constantly throwing it up on the screen.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  7. Frank Pliska III

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    If the "Strong Interference" warning is showing assuming it is the 2.4ghz WiFi band that is causing the interference the control of the aircraft should be stable because it is in the 5.7ghz band. So should you loose all of your FPV and its telemetry we should be able to initiate a manual RTH with the transmitter. ???????
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yes,

    To all a reminder, what fools people is they loose all signals from the Phantom. They think it will RTH, but nothing happens because the Phantom is still receiving the remote.

    Rod