Strange behaviour from phantom 3 std RC

Reaction score
Hi All, newbie here!
Having very strange behaviour with my phantom 3 standard and RC, it's very similar to a few threads I've read but just can't seem to nail this one (usually I'll find an answer here without posting, superb forum by the way!)
Anyway, after a mild crash - part of gimbal slightly bent, repaired damage and fitted new ribbon cable, booted up drone and had no video feed or any other feedback from app, immediately thought it was new cable (opted for cheaper version), so ordered new, more expensive cable from DJI, fitted new cable, booted up drone and same thing, no feedback whatsoever from app? the RC LED is staying red although the drone's (connection) LED goes green straight away. Tried re-linking RC to drone but times out every time.
I tried to manually update to the latest firmware (several times) but gimbal goes solid red after around 20 seconds (with constant beep), can't do it through app because of the no feedback issue, but here's the strange thing, the drone will go through all the usual rear light sequence, and eventually end up with slow blinking green lights, I have total control over the drone from RC, despite the red LED light, I can move gimbal (slightly) left & right, fully up & down and even start the blades and fly, albeit without satellites, but still get no feedback at all from app, no video, battery life of drone, battery life of RC, nothing! Tried uninstalling and reinstalling app several times!
At a complete loss and hoping for some expert advice!
Cheers

Wow! over a week and 80 views but no answer, now I'm getting worried!