Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Retroman

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    So I've only had the P4 for a couple weeks and haven’t had the chance to really push it yet. I'm getting about 1000 meters range before signal loss(video and RC)from my backyard, which is actually not as bad as it sounds as there is a lot of concrete and signal noise in the area(as in I get to the other side of my town and down to the beach with a lot of houses, churches and other things that would reduce range dramatically).


    My question is, would it be worth getting an Inspire remote to use with my P4 for the extra range it seems to offer? It’s a pricey addon, but I’d gladly pay it if it improved performance. Are there any downsides to it? I know it doesn't have the same switch labels as the P4 remote(sports mode etc) so can I still use them?

    If I do get an Inspire remote, are there different models of remote, any of them the best to go for.

    Lots of questions :)
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,020
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I've seen threads where people have complained of having difficulty linking remotes from different DJI aircraft to other DJI aircraft. So I would be wary and research first.

    But it seems obvious to me what you really want to do is mod your existing controller.
     
  3. Retroman

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Perhaps a mod is what I will end up doing. But I wanted to keep it as clean as possible and I don't really need massive range. A lot of the mods I see are very unsightly and large things hanging off the RC.
     
  4. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,020
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Yes, if you add amps and a battery, stuff might hang off, but if you simply want to replace your omni with a directional, you can make a pretty clean mod and add a surprising amount of range. Good luck!
     
  5. Retroman

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    I have a decent 3D printer so I could print out the base for a directional and add some copper or aluminium sheets to it. Or be lazy and buy one as they seem pretty cheap from Amazon/eBay.
     
  6. Theresa Strange

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Waialua O'ahu Hawai'i
    #6 Theresa Strange, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
    AlPurvis2 likes this.