Photography - Alternate Cameras?

Reaction score
I have been flying my phantom for a week now, great fun. I am a pro still photographer. I have been using the gopro3 in intervalometer mode. I hate the quality and not being able to work in raw.
Has anyone put a Canon Powershot on board and used the CHDK hack to get raw?

Would be very interested in your thoughts.

24pfilms said:
I have been flying my phantom for a week now, great fun. I am a pro still photographer. I have been using the gopro3 in intervalometer mode. I hate the quality and not being able to work in raw.
Has anyone put a Canon Powershot on board and used the CHDK hack to get raw?

Would be very interested in your thoughts.

You and I are in the same boat. I'm used to shooting raw with my Nikon D7000. The photos I get with the GoPro3+ black, though way better than my original GoPro, still suck compared to what I'm used to working with.

I have canon S95 and have read about the CHDK setup with great interest. I'd love to mount the S95 and shoot some raw shots as a test. Just got my gimbal and the S95 is a little too big. So I'm considering creating or finding some way of mounting the S95 with only a jello reducer and setting the camera to shoot every 3 or 5 seconds. It would blow away the gopro.

I've also considered strapping my Galaxy SIII to the Phantom. It shoots great HD video without the mega lens distortion the GoPro has.

One of the biggest things I find I can do is try to make sure the GoPro is level and that the primary subject is hitting the center of the lens, where the least amount of distortion is.

Hey Mediaguru...good to have a ally in this.
I will be buying a Canon powershot and hacking it then strapping it on.