Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom vision 2 - green light stays on and two motors dead

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Louis Woller, Feb 10, 2016.

  1. Louis Woller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help me please. My P2 just went haywire when i tried to fly it yesterday. This is what happens:
    1. It starts having a solid green light after switched on..
    2. I manage to get the two front motors to spin but the back two are dead..
    Please help me guys, I will even pay for advise!
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Hello,
    We are going to need more info,
    First what happened? Just started out of the blue? Or did it crash?
    What lights are solid green? ( front, back,? )
    Or can you shoot a video of it starting up?
    What have you tried so far?
    Have you replaced anything before this happened?
    Sorry but without more info, I'm not sure we can help much?

    Please let us know, so we can offer better guidance to you, and see if we can get you in the air again!

    Take care,
    J Dot
     
  3. Louis Woller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    First what happened? Just started out of the blue? Or did it crash? - no crash, it just suddenly switched off when i was lifting off, was about 7 meters up and i caught it.
    What lights are solid green? ( front, back,? ) - the back. not sure if it's green or yellow..
    Or can you shoot a video of it starting up? - i changed my phone to a samsung tab 3 for better viewing, it shows connected but then it shows lost signal in a few seconds.
    What have you tried so far? - I have reloaded the firmware and calibrated the controller, the back lights are solid green, when you unlock the motors the front ones start to spin and the light under neath them light up to solid red.
    Have you replaced anything before this happened? - nothing.
    Please see the video:
     
  4. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Yes,
    Definitely an issue, can you provide some closeup pictures on your birds motherboard, esc's, wiring, ect.
    Have you tried reinstalling the firmware?
    Something might have come loose, or broken?

    If you can please provide pictures, might show a problem?

    Thanks
    J dot
     
  5. Louis Woller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thank you for replying. How do i reinstall the firmware?
    Here are photos that you have requested.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JackTheTexan

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Do you have something besides a potato to take pictures with?

    Just kidding.. Sorry for your misfortune, I'm not gonna be much help.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Since you are up call me
     
  8. Louis Woller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    excuse me?
     
  9. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    That was meant for someone else Louis.
     
  10. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    I can't really see anything that jumps out at me, but to reinstall firmware, hook phantom to PC assistant, search for firmware update, then click install.
    You need to look at each connection closely for broken solder joints, loose connections, burnt out components ( on circuit boards ) make sure all plugs are tight, and inserted all the way. Look at everything. But try reinstalling firmware, might help?

    J Dot